1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is Firewire port and Adobe Premier enough ?

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by Merlin, Jul 6, 2003.

1. Merlin

Merlin
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Total newbie to getting footage off My MiniDV Panasonic MX8 and onto PC. My CreativeLabs Audigy Player pci sound card has the correct firewire connection and it performs well a review says. I gather I dont need to purchase a video capture card like the matrox RS2000 (their latest are not Win98, and =£ to a camcorder !, I shall shortly have their G550 2D3D card), I just need a firewire port, and editing prog like Premier, is that true ?
    I still have yet to use my AdobePremierv4 prog, I believe in Adobe and use Photoshop heavily so compatability there as well, anyway its Adobe so its industry quality (well the latest will be !), Microsoft...not in my good books at present ! Its from Win95 days and I am Win98 (2Gb 11minute limit to footage and poor memory management I know but currently staying with win98 and maybe for a long time [another story ...pissing me off bigtime and the fault of Microsoft ! ] ). Box says i486 or pentium, 16Mb RAM recommended, 100MB HD (500MB recommended !). Being serious about anything I get into, I plan to upgrade but it can't happen just yet and I need to suss the principles of this editing etc. Given I have a 500MhzPIII and 128MbRAM I would like to dabble with this first.
    So I plumb my camcorder into the firewire, then what ? Premier manual makes no mention of what to do, keeps talking about existing clips !!! but I believe from Panasonic that such software like this does the capturing...?
    What does one do next to get a digital file created ?
    Merlin
    :confused:

2. JayX

JayX

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +30