Is distance to speaker & impedance the only criteria when deciding speaker cable thickness/gauge?

gadgetluvr

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to this "scene" but have done a fair bit of reading trying to get my head around all of this.

My query is this - do I need to factor anything else other than distance from my amplifier to the speaker and the impedance of the speaker before I decide what thickness speaker cable to use? For reference, my amp is the Denon AVR-X2700H and the speakers are the Wharfedale DX-2's (4Ω nominal impedance). I will be using 12 AWG cable for my rear speakers as they are about 45 feet each from the amp. However for the fronts and center I know I can use 20 AWG as they are only 5 feet runs - but should I? The amp is a new model - do I need to worry about the power it puts out as well? Or the fact that I will be running 20 AWG and 12 AWG cables at the same time?

I'd prefer to use the 20 AWG as I can't hide all of the cable and obviously the thinner the better for aesthetic purposes; and they are about half the cost although that's not a massive factor as they are short runs.

I've specifically used "AWG" and not "mm²" as I've sourced my cable from the U.S. It was surprisingly hard to source white 12 AWG cable (or equivalent) cable in the UK without paying a premium for it.
The closest to 12 AWG here is 4 mm² and the closest to 18/20 AWG is 0.75 mm² (QED Profile 42 is what I have my eyes on).

Many thanks in advance.

Last edited:

anden

Standard Member
Seems like you got the principles correct, however with overall a bit overdimensioned sizes. You could probably go all 1.5 mm² unless you really want to go thinner with the front speakers.

Speaker wire.jpg

gadgetluvr

Thanks for the response. I hadn't quite seen your table of lengths before, the charts I came across

(links below) seemed to suggest that I'd need about 12 AWG for my 14-15m runs to each of my 4 Ω speakers. And yeah, if I can go 0.75 mm² for the fronts that would be ideal!