1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is Digital Cable Available in your area?

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by Del, May 18, 2001.

  1. Del

    Del
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2000
    Messages:
    723
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +14
    I've recently decided to upgrade my current Telewest analogue cable to Telewest Cable digital.I'm based in sunny Slough.

    Upon enquiries to telewest both via the internet and through their customer service I've been told that my area, event though cabled has not been upgraded for digital and not likely for at least 2-3years :( even though Slough is one of their franchise areas.

    In 3 words, I'm ****ed. :mad: No Digital cable or Hi Speed Internet. FYI I've been with Cable since '92.

    Does anyone else have this problem with their Cable supplier?
     
  2. Tel boy

    Tel boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2001
    Messages:
    147
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK-North East
    Ratings:
    +5
    Del, I wouldn't be in a hurry to upgrade to digital going on the reports I've heard,everyone I know that has went to dig wishes they had their old analogue system back. Mind U Im not from your neck of the woods Im from the North East so can only report from up here, but dig has lots of probs it keeps freezing blacking out mono sound only crap pictures loads of interference etc. Even the cable guys are sick of it My M8 is on his 3rd decoder and the guy that brought the decoder was saying they are snowed under with probs/complaints. So be warned it's not sorted yet by a long way! Cheers M8 Tel. :(
     
  3. pat clancy

    pat clancy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2000
    Messages:
    1,733
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    LONDON
    Ratings:
    +27
    if only i could have analouge cable back,i have telewest digital,what a load of rubbish,i,ve had 3 digiboxs ,i still have problems,the sound is crap,mono sound,no prologic.i live in bedfont.analogue is much better,at least you can get nicam with glorious plogic.
     
  4. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sounds like this is down to your area.

    I've got NTL digital and was one of the first installs when it came available in Manchester - at that time it was Cable & Wireless. I got it to replace Sky Analogue.

    At first there were problems with it and I too had to have the original box replaced and I suffered from having to regularly unplug the frozen box. But I've got to say that now it is excellent. I rarely have any problems with it (touch wood), the picture is perfect, no digital blocking and glorious stereo sound. The only problems I ever have with it are trying to sign up for pay per view movies which we tend only to do very occasionally anyway - it always seems to decide to update the schedule just as you're trying to sign up for the movie that starts in 2 minutes time so consequently you miss it!

    My advice would be to wait until it's been in your area for a while and the bugs have been ironed out and then go for it.

    One little point on this, my mate has Sky Digital and recently got Ondig too, he reckons that Ondig is a better picture than Sky!

    Cheers
     
  5. Del

    Del
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2000
    Messages:
    723
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +14
    Even if the cable companies are having problems with the implementation (eg picture problems, sound dropouts etc) I find it annoying that I have to wait 2-3yrs for digital.

    Come on Telewest get your fingers out!!!
     
  6. Del

    Del
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2000
    Messages:
    723
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +14
    I also wanted to say that I'm not allowed to have a Sky Satellite Dish. So that's not an option :(
     

Share This Page

Loading...