1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

is a hk amp worth buying over my sony db940?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by shawn, Mar 3, 2005.

Tags:
  1. shawn

shawn

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +7
    hi,

my mates moving abroad next week and hes selling his cinema system,
    just wanted some advice whever i should buy and whever im going to notice a improvment over my current setup,

my current amp is:

sony db 940c amp,
    eltax speakers all round.

the amp im thinking of buying:

hk avr 507

he said its a good amp alot better than my sony db940, and it limited edition not avalible in uk now, dont know how true this is, as im new to this,
    he wants 250 for it.

is it worth buying and am i going to notice a conciderable amount of diffrence from my sony? if i bought this amp, and lets say bought some tannoy speakers afterwards>?

2. Rolo Tomasi

Rolo Tomasi

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    Is there any chance of you borrowing or at least listening to it?

I used to have a 940; it was superb for movies but not so good on the music (CD) side. If movies are your priority, I would need a serious demo to convince me that the HK was better.

I changed for the HK 8500 flagship receiver (as was) and I still have a nagging doubt that the 940 was not far behind.

3. Bassbin

Bassbin

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +56
    I also used to have a 940 and have to agree that it is a great amp and was good value new and now makes a good used buy to upgrade I think you need to be looking at the Denon 2802/3802 as a minimum. I went from a 940 to a Yamaha A2 which was a lot better and then to a 3802 for its extra processing options.

4. Andywilliams

Andywilliams

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +63
    [QUOTE