Answered Is a hdfury my only option?

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by Topmetom 2, Aug 28, 2018.

  1. Topmetom 2

    Topmetom 2

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    2,322
    Products Owned:
    5
    Products Wanted:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Big hill
    Ratings:
    +725
    im just about to take delivery of a nad t758v3 for dirac. It has one hdmi output , which i knew, however i have a sony 55a1 oled which is fantastic and a older themescene hd87 1080p projector.
    Question is what can i buy to split the output from the nad so i continue with 4k loveliness on the sony and still be able to use the pj?
    I think its only a hdfury which will work?
    Thanks,
    Phil
     
  2. Best Answer:
    Post #3 by Joe Fernand, Aug 28, 2018 (1 points)
  3. simonb3665

    simonb3665
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    353
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +34
    I don't have a hd fury (Vertex?) but I have used a splitter and it would work for 4k/hdr if I power of the projector (at the wall). If I didn't I would only get hd to the tv. For me it was ok as I would only ever be using either the tv or projector. Finding a splitter or switch which works is a bit hit or miss though so buy from somewhere with a good returns policy. I was thinking of getting the NAD and was thinking of trying a switch instead but knowing I could have to budget for the Vertex if worse came to worse. If you use arc off the LG then that may affect what will work also.
    I'm sure the guru will be along shortly to help :)
     
  4. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,927
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,572
    Best Answer
    There are a couple of factors which may influence your choice between the HDFury Vertex and or a conventional 1x2 Distribution Amp (Splitter).

    With the conventional 1x2 DA on the Output side of the AVR and your HD/HDCP1.4 Display (Projector) selected as your Sink you may find your Source devices will revert to only playing back a 1080p signal - which if it is a streaming services some folk find is a negative step as they prefer to play back a 4K stream and then allow the Vertex to down convert it from 2160p to 1080p.

    As simonb3665 points out you can usually introduce a conventional 1x2 DA to the AVR though you will have to ensure the HD/HDCP1.4 Sink is fully Off at the wall or it can interfere with you playing UHD Source content on the UHD/HDCP2.2 Sink device (your OLED).

    Joe

    PS If you intended to use both Sink devices Simultaneously (OLED+PJ) you will have to consider the Vertex.
     
  5. Topmetom 2

    Topmetom 2

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    2,322
    Products Owned:
    5
    Products Wanted:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Big hill
    Ratings:
    +725
    The vertex looks very awkward to set up?
     
  6. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,927
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,572
    'The vertex looks very awkward to set up?' - it does provide a lot of options so focusing in on what you require can take a bit of time.

    Configuring it via a PC or using the Optional GoBlue adapter with the iOS/Android App is far simpler than trying to use the side buttons.

    Where required if we are supplying a unit we can usually pre-configure it to the customers requirements before we ship them - plus telephone/email support is always available.

    Joe
     
  7. Topmetom 2

    Topmetom 2

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    2,322
    Products Owned:
    5
    Products Wanted:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Big hill
    Ratings:
    +725
    So you could set it up to my pj and oled? Sounds perfect...
    If i upgraded to a jvc x5000 for the 4k aspect, i know its not full 4k, could you help with that?
    Do i order via the website?
     
  8. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,927
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,572
    Yes happy to pre configure to suit your kit - put a note on the website order and we will be in touch to go over your system with you.

    If you do make changes further down the line we can usually help out too.

    Joe
     
  9. Topmetom 2

    Topmetom 2

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    2,322
    Products Owned:
    5
    Products Wanted:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Big hill
    Ratings:
    +725
    Would an integral do the same? Just me being cheap
     
  10. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,927
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,572
    Similar but different Beast - there is no onboard scaling with the Integral so you rely on the Source Outputting 1080p when required.

    Joe
     
  11. Topmetom 2

    Topmetom 2

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    2,322
    Products Owned:
    5
    Products Wanted:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Big hill
    Ratings:
    +725
    Ah ha..thanks
     
  12. sieade245

    sieade245
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
  13. Topmetom 2

    Topmetom 2

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    2,322
    Products Owned:
    5
    Products Wanted:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Big hill
    Ratings:
    +725
  14. Topmetom 2

    Topmetom 2

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    2,322
    Products Owned:
    5
    Products Wanted:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Big hill
    Ratings:
    +725
    @Joe Fernand ive been given some amazon vouchers, how do i tell you what i want through amazon? As the media factory is the seller?
     
  15. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,927
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,572
    Honestly - I have no idea!

    Drop me an email ([email protected]) and I'll come back to you in the morning.

    Joe
     
  16. Topmetom 2

    Topmetom 2

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    2,322
    Products Owned:
    5
    Products Wanted:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Big hill
    Ratings:
    +725
    Emailed mate, thank you.
     

Share This Page

Loading...