1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is a contrast ratio of 200:1 enough?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by godi32, Oct 2, 2001.

1. godi32

godi32

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,

I can buy a sony VPL-CX10 LCD projector for very little money (1190£) but it has a contrast <br />ratio of 200:1. Is this enough to enjoy home cinema or should I look elsewhere? Also can someone check it's other specs for me and give me some feedback please. I'm fairly new to the home cinema market and would appriciate any feedback. <a href="http://www.mofo.clara.co.uk/PDF/VPL-CS10.pdf" target="_blank">http://www.mofo.clara.co.uk/PDF/VPL-CS10.pdf</a>

Thank you very much!

Dirk <br />Belgium

2. Chris Frost

Chris Frost

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +109
    XGA resolution and 1200 ANSI lumens for less than £1200 is a bit of a bargain. At that price I don't think you can afford to be too picky about the contrast ratio.

Is this a second-hand/used projector?

There are better home theatre projectors on the market (Sanyo PLV30/Toshiba MT1), but they'll cost at least £2000 and won't offer the brightness or resolution. However, they might give a more pleasing picture.

The Sony you've picked is a business presentation projector, so video quality may be a low priority. Features like 16:9 compatibility don't appear in the spec and there's no dB figure for fan noise. Also check the expected lamp life. If it is only 1000 hours this could become a very expensive projector to run.

If your budget is £1200 and you've never owned a projector before then I'm sure you'll be pleased with the Sony.

Regards

3. godi32

godi32

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello Chris,

Thank you so much for your reply.

The lamp life is 2000 Hours and there is between 34-36 DB fan noise. Some projector