1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is a Computer with DVI better than DVD?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by StephanSeattle, Mar 13, 2005.

1. StephanSeattle

StephanSeattle

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just bought an InFocus 4805 and I am a beginner with AV. I was wondering if I would get higher quality with my notebook (latest Toshiba M2) with DVI rather than my DVD (Progressive Scan) with component cables.

2. MikeK

MikeK

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +316
    Not necessarily - it would depend on many things.

As you have the necessary gear already (assuming you have a suitable DVI cable to connect to the PJ as well), it can't hurt to experiment and see what you think.
    Also try the DVD player in interlaced component output - the deinterlacer in the PJ may be better than DVD player's - costs nothing to try it!
    The other thing about this is that with the DVD player in progressive mode, the signal frequency on the component cables is twice what it is when the player is outputting interlaced signals - if your cable run is long and/or your cables are not top notch, this may make a difference too (EDIT - top notch doesn't necessarily mean high priced either)

Unfortunately, as is so often the case, there isn't a definitive yes/no, black/white answer!

3. KraGorn

KraGorn

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +27
    While it's true a PC is capable of producing a better PQ than a DVD player, even an expensive one, to do so requires several things to cooperate (hardware and software) which takes time (sometimes a lot of time) to setup.