1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

is a 800x600 projector good enough for a large screen ?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by jjcool, Aug 25, 2004.

1. jjcool

jjcool

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi,

im still on the lookout for a budget projector,
    i was thinking of the INFOCUS X1 ,

however i will be useing it on a 7-8 foot screen, so im not sure if this projector is ideal for such a large screen as i heard people say about screendoor effect being a 800x600 projector, what exactly is screendoor anyways? sorry im fairly new to this done a search and i still dont understand, will it be a issue with this projector?

or do u need a certain spec for such a big screen? want to get things right before i decide, as this being my first projector and proberbly wont upgrade for a few years,

thankyou

2. Jim McC

Jim McC
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    jjcool, SDE is associated with LCD projectors. The X1 is a DLP projector, and you may see a problem called the rainbow effect(Do a search). The X1 is fine for a 7'-8' screen as long as you don't sit too close. You should sit approx. 2X screen width back from screen(14' back for 7' screen). The X1 is probably the most popular projector here in USA.

3. jjcool

jjcool

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    any way of telling if u will suffer from rainbow effect unless you view?

also whats the diffrence between 1024x768 and 800x600? i gather ones 4.3 and 1024x768 is widescreen,
    so what would happen if u have a 800x600 and want to view widescreen,

sorry about the dumb questions im new to this.

4. LV426

LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +5,075