Is £200 enough to purchase in wall speakers?

JennyJames

Hi all.

I am happy with my 5.1 harman-kardon-hkts-7 (cnet link for specs) which i have been using for the past 7 years with the free cables that came in the box.

I have finally purchased my own property and am wondering if £200 will be enough to purchase in-wall speakers that would sound like an upgrade or if I should just hang my HKTS satellite speakers on the wall.

I will be purchasing new speaker cable and will be hiding it in the walls. Richer Sounds told me they sell some QED at £88 for a 100m roll

I really don't want to spend more than £200 on the speakers despite the fact that in wall speakers look better than the satellites hung on the wall.

So, I need advice please.

Do I stick with what I have or can you link to an in-wall set that will be an upgrade at £200?

My living room is 4.5m by 4.5m and I will have the TV in the middle of one wall.

Thanks.

Gasp3621

Distinguished Member
You still need to use the subwoofer from the HK package with the in-wall speakers or it will sound very anemic without bass (low frequencies) and you would then have 2.1 system VS. 5.1 system which you have now with the HKs.

hkts7_eu_service_manual_.jpg

You could also save up for some Kef T101 / T301 in white, ultra thin and modern looking. Naturally they would be wall mounted.

Do you really need 100meters? You sure it wasn´t in feet cause QED brand in-wall CL2/CL3 rated wire, 100meters for that price sounds too low.

Cheaper brand than QED speaker wire GearIT Pro Awg 14 (thickness) 250feet / 76,2meters will cost 99£. 100feet is 35£.
Amazon product

JennyJames

Yes, sorry, I probably will end up using the sub and the centre speaker.

Maybe I misunderstood about the cable price. I only need about 25 metres.

I'm really not prepared to pay an extra £600 just for speakers. I have the money, I'm just not sure that I will get a better experience. I think i'd rather just mount the HK side speakers.

Gasp3621