1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

IR Remote Repeater....follow-up!

Discussion in 'Arcam Owners' Forum' started by WRG, Jul 20, 2005.

  1. WRG

    WRG
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Crustyloafer "Hit the nail on the Head" ...I just got my Xantech Dinky Link 480B-30 infaredred receiver from the UPS guy and plugged into the back of the AVR300 and WOW...what a difference, I just pulled the little receiver out to the front of my components and laid it onto a small shelf in front of the Sony XBR just to try it....Excellent, what a difference, I can indirectly point my C80 remote 90-180 degrees away from the reciever and it will function perfectly. I can actually bounce the IR off the back wall and the receiver will pick up the signal and operate the AVR300. Additionally, it's very small and inconspicuous :clap: Comes with a very small 2-cond cable that is 7ft long or for you Chaps I guess that is about 2 meters? The IR receiver attached to the end is about the half the size of a regular pen, square with two round small sensors on one side...No external power, no connecting block needed, justs plugs into the small "in local" connection in the back ( pg E-10 AVR manual)

    ...Works like a charm, thanks Chris :thumbsup:
     
  2. Crustyloafer

    Crustyloafer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9,521
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +1,239
    Glad to hear it works well.
     
  3. davehk

    davehk
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    702
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +45
    Hi,

    This looks like it will meet my requirements too ...

    Is it OK to wire the Dinklyink to the AVR300 via a Xantech splitter block so that I can also attach an IR emitter to control my Pioneer DVD player?

    Thanks
     
  4. LFCRules

    LFCRules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,670
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +188
    Hi Dave,

    Check out this link which has near the bottom the dinkylink manual. It says there it should be able to plug straight into the Xantech blocks

    Cheers

    Andy
     
  5. LFCRules

    LFCRules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,670
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +188
    Just another thought. To be able to work in fairly close proximity to a plasma, does the dinkylink need the SUN480 sunscreen filter? Or is it fairly plasma friendly out of the box?

    I haven't got a plasma at the moment, but things could change ;)

    Cheers

    Andy
     
  6. WRG

    WRG
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Andy, wish I could answer your question about the plasma however, my Sony is a CRT so that won't help you...
     
  7. Crustyloafer

    Crustyloafer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9,521
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +1,239
    I would try it without the filter to start with, try mounting the receiver behind the screen. If you still have problems you could get the filter later.

     
  8. davehk

    davehk
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    702
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +45
    Andy,

    Thanks - I know I can connect the Dinky to the Xantech block. I was wanting to check that it is OK to connect an Emitter Output from the Xantech block DIRECTLY to the remote input of the AVR300, ie not using an emitter. Couldn't find a reference to that in the DL manual.

    Dave
     
  9. LFCRules

    LFCRules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,670
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +188
    Cheers Chris, I'll try it without to start off. All I have to do now is invest in the plasma :devil: :devil:

    Cheers

    Andy
     
  10. LFCRules

    LFCRules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,670
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +188
    Doh, sorry Dave, I misread your first post. Could be a query direct to Xantech for that one I reckon.

    Cheers

    Andy
     

Share This Page

Loading...