1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

IR Remote/Dscaler/Front-End Software

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Easy2BCheesy, Jul 1, 2005.

  1. Easy2BCheesy

    Easy2BCheesy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Messages:
    343
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just a quickie... I've pretty much decided that my HCPC will run Dscaler for Sweetspot/Sky+, and most likely Meedio as the front-end software (although I might well try out Media Portal too). I've had to rule out MCE2005 as I can't find any details on any of the various forums about successful, fairly seamless integration between MCE and Dscaler.

    I've run tests on my desktop PC (which currently houses the Sweetspot) and the integration between Meedio and Dscaler is OK, but not fantastic. I can run Dscaler with no problems, but there is some loading time so it doesn't feel seamless, doesn't feel like a part of Meedio. Which I suppose is to be expected.

    I'm now looking for a remote that will run Meedio, but will also allow me to quit out of Dscaler easily to return to the Meedio front-page.

    Can any one suggest a set-up to do this?
     
  2. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    I have Dscaler integrated into my xlobby setup, conrolled via pronto remote and usbuirt with girder in the background .
     
  3. Easy2BCheesy

    Easy2BCheesy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Messages:
    343
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Any other potential solutions out there? I have a spare one-for-all six lying about - can I just buy a USB IR receiver and Girder that up to run Dscaler/meedio/everything?
     
  4. groovyclam

    groovyclam
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Messages:
    202
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    As long as Girder talks to the make of IR *receiver* you end up with, then you will be able to do anything.

    The make of remote is not an issue.

    I have Meedio calling DScaler, ZoomPlayer, DigiGuide and DigiTV all controlled by various Girder scripts I knocked up.
     
  5. Easy2BCheesy

    Easy2BCheesy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Messages:
    343
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Any recommendations on where to get a cheap IR receiver with Girder support? Thanks for the help!
     
  6. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,718
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +34
    I use the Dscaler decoder with Meedio TV, but the final release of meedio TV isnt for a few weeks
     
  7. Easy2BCheesy

    Easy2BCheesy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Messages:
    343
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Sweetspot uses a modified version of Dscaler so I suspect I'm going to be stuck with that and won't be able to use MeedioTV. Unless you know differently?
     
  8. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,718
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +34
    You will be able to soon
     
  9. Easy2BCheesy

    Easy2BCheesy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Messages:
    343
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't quite understand - are you saying the full version of MeedioTV integrates Dscaler? Even the modified Sweetspot version?

    I tried reading up on the Meedio site but it's not very clear...
     
  10. Gillykid

    Gillykid
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    The latest versions of DScaler work fine - it simply isn't listed as Sweetspot, its Pinnicle or something - I will take a look later and tell you....

    Personnally I use the ATI Remote Wonder - works fine, controls Meedio perfectly and can close / control DScaler :smoke:
     
  11. Embarker

    Embarker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,626
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Garden of England
    Ratings:
    +66
    I too use xlobby and have a screen for my ppc (qtek s100 with sd wifi card)to open and close dscaler.

    I too have the usbuirt, but have not taken the time to create the buttons for sky+ channels.

    John, any help welcomed ;)
     
  12. Easy2BCheesy

    Easy2BCheesy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Messages:
    343
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just picked up an ATI remote from Ebay. How are you setting it up to control dscaler Gillykid? Does the supplied software do the trick or is there any other jiggery pokery required?
     
  13. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,718
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +34
    No, there is a Dscaler decoder, have a search on google for it.

    In meedio you can choose any decoder you want for TV seperately from the DVD player
     
  14. Gillykid

    Gillykid
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Meedio has a dedicated plug in for the ATI remote so it can control the DVD player, menus etc. There is a power button on the remote that can be set to close the currently active window - this works fine with DScaler.

    After that you have a couple of options - either map the ATI buttons to the controls of DScaler via ATI's software, or change DScaler to map to the buttons of the remote - either will work :smashin:

    If you do go for a more recent version of DScaler (I recommend 4.1.12 - http://sourceforge.net/project/shownotes.php?release_id=311039) I think the tuner is listed as either Pinnicle or PCI or something like that.
     

Share This Page

Loading...