1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

IR remote dimmer switches

Discussion in 'Smart Home, Climate Control & Security Forum' started by Arthur.S, Feb 28, 2001.

  1. Arthur.S

    Arthur.S
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Letsautomate only seem to sell X10 stuff or Lutron(Expensive) [​IMG]

    ------------------
    www.baldyplex.com
     
  2. General Skanky

    General Skanky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +44
    I'll find my receipts etc and let you know exactly where and how much.

    ------------------
    Douch!!......Wot's da madder, da CIA got you pushing too many penzils?

    Work: www.hughes-tv.co.uk
     
  3. Paul D

    Paul D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +391
    Heres a link to the page for cheap IR dimmers
    http://www.letsautomate.com/10163.cfm?cfid=9961&cftoken=18287

    These dimmers are the same as the ones at maplins but cheaper!. These should fulfil your needs fine.


    I bought one but didn't like the single button control, ie press once - on, press once - off, press and hold dim up/down.

    When using a universal remote it did't know if the lights were on or off.

    I stumped for the £98 Lutron, it has seperate buttons for on/off up/down four preset light levels, plus soft(fade) on/off.

    The macro on the remote (Sony RM-AV2000T - £80 Richersounds) can be set to "play DVD dim/off lights" or "Stop DVD lights up/on" etc.




    ------------------
    I'am not drinking anymore....but i'am not drinking any less
     
  4. retrof

    retrof
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    155
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +14
    Hi,

    I'm looking for an online store which sells basic IR dimmer switches (not anything fancy - just a basic one will do just fine) I know Argos used to sell them, but not any more...

    Thanks,
    retro
     
  5. slingshot

    slingshot
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2001
    Messages:
    1,212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +32
    Try www.maplin.co.uk

    They have some for £33 which supposedly include anti TV/Video interference devices.

    I haven't tried them so I'm not sure what they're like.

    Cheers

    Slingshot
     
  6. General Skanky

    General Skanky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +44
    You are in luck.
    Firstly, do a search on the forum and you'll find a whole host of replies to this exact topic.
    But for speed, I bought one at £25 approx.
    Go to www.letsautomate.co.uk and you'll get what you want. I bought my first one elsewhere, but it's cropping up all over at £25 - £30 or so.
    I have two now and they are both fine.
    It's the one that can be used in one of 4 zones with the same remote. Very simple to use and install.
    You'll need to buy either a recessed wall pallette or a 25mm box one (I think that's the depth) to put on your wall. I had 16mm (?) boxes, both were changed. Replacements cost about £1 +/-, depending where you buy one from, Homebase, Wickes etc. The standard size is not deep enough to accomodate the recess of the dimmer's internals.
    E-mail me for any more info if you need it.


    ------------------
    Douch!!......Wot's da madder, da CIA got you pushing too many penzils?

    Work: www.hughes-tv.co.uk

    [This message has been edited by General Skanky (edited 28-02-2001).]
     
  7. retrof

    retrof
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    155
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +14
    Thanks for all the info folks.
    I went with Maplin in the end, as letsautomate.com have some ridiculous delivery charges when shipping outside the UK.

    Cheers,
    -retro
     
  8. General Skanky

    General Skanky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +44
    Fulabeer,

    they are the ones I have and my Pronto is fine with them. No problems.

    ------------------
    Douch!!......Wot's da madder, da CIA got you pushing too many penzils?

    Work: www.hughes-tv.co.uk
     
  9. Paul D

    Paul D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +391
    No offence meant (General Sanky). If your lights were already off and you pressed play (macro) it would turn your lights on! etc where as the lutron has dedicated up down commands so if the lights were off and you pressed play(macro) the lights would just stay off....Paul

    ------------------
    I'am not drinking anymore....but i'am not drinking any less
     
  10. General Skanky

    General Skanky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +44
    None taken. [​IMG]
    I see what you mean now. I haven't set up any macros yet. But obviously there is that to look out for.
    Thanks for the tip.

    ------------------
    Douch!!......Wot's da madder, da CIA got you pushing too many penzils?

    Work: www.hughes-tv.co.uk
     
  11. jimcarney

    jimcarney
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    641
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    DOWNPATRICK CO DOWN
    Ratings:
    +3
    Does anybody have any experience of X10 Auto dimmers .I have a lighting plate with 3 dimmers [Manual] which I would like to replace with automatic control .Any suggestions .Jim
     
  12. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,816
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +139
    Hi All
    Do these infer red dimmers buzz, like the old manual ones do.

    cheers
    Tim

    ------------------
    You are not Jadzia....Jadzia has gone to Stovacore
     
  13. Paul D

    Paul D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +391
    I have several IR dimmers around the house both cheap and dear(lutron) and none of them buzz loudly. From about foot away i can't hear anything.
    Listening from about two inches away on full dim the cheap ones give a very slight buzz.
    The manual rotary ones i've heard can be heard from two/three feet away!.
    Different makes of IR dimmers are louder/quiter but still quieter than manual ones.......IMHO!

    ------------------
    Reality is just an illusion caused by the lack of alcohol....
     

Share This Page

Loading...