1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

iPod Volume Booster

Discussion in 'Headphones, Earphones & Portable Music' started by G a f f e r, Dec 30, 2004.

Tags:
  1. G a f f e r

    G a f f e r
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,899
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    U.K.
    Ratings:
    +484
    To get around the EU 100dB limit for european iPod's, some of you may have installed this software that is meant to "reset" the iPod firmware back to US settings of max 102-103 dB output.

    Despite what the readme says about this software, it doesn't seem to alter the iPod firmware to lift the dB cap to above 100dB. All it does is change all the tracks to 125%ish percent wrt the track volumes (highlight a track in itunes and press command-i, then go into the options tab - all this software does is alter the tracks volume setting).

    Is there any software that alters the iPod's firmware rather than alter the individual song settings?

    thanx 4 any info
     
  2. mick's cat

    mick's cat
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm, I use my iPod with my Mac, and I know that there are some utilities that just adjust the track volumes as you say, which is pretty useless. There is at least one utility for the Mac that correctly adjusts the firmware though, so I guess there will be some that do the same for an iPod on Windows (assuming that's what you're using).

    FWIW, the Mac tool I use is goPod:

    http://gopod.free-go.net/index_en.htm

    It works a treat.

    Any time you update the iPod's firmware (for Apple updates) you obviously then have to reapply the patch.
     
  3. G a f f e r

    G a f f e r
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,899
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    U.K.
    Ratings:
    +484
    Me, use windows?......with My reputation... :D

    Seriously though, definitely Mac (too use to system stability to devolve back to Windows). Thanx for the link, I'll give them a go...
     
  4. mick's cat

    mick's cat
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, I'm a noobie here, so I don't know your reputation... ;)

    Anyway, I reckon you'll find goPod does the trick nicely. I can now listen to my iPod while I mow the lawn or sit beside the missus without any of that background noise clutter getting in the way of the music. :clown:
     
  5. LinkinRuss

    LinkinRuss
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    178
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    i hear a program called imod also works, but hasnt been tested on 4th gen yet
     
  6. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,926
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +544
    I have just downloaded the windows version.

    How does this program exactly work. Are there any settings i need to change??

    Its for a mini ipod that i bought my other half for christmas

    Thanks

    Dal
     
  7. mick's cat

    mick's cat
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, with the Mac version you just connect up the iPod, launch the app and click Go. Then goPod does its stuff and reports back that the job's done. There are no settings as it's just a simple switch of certain bits in the firmware that tell the iPod to work at full volume level instead of EU-crippled volume level. I would think it's the same with the Windows (and Linux) version. Dead simple.

    Oh, wait, I forgot - turn the volume down next time you listen...
     
  8. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,926
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +544

    Thanks allot mate i ran the op as im at work and it says waiting for an ipod.

    So ill install that when i get home and try it on the girlfriends ipod. Although she has not commented that it is quiet. I think it is a little (could be going deaf i suppose)

    Dal

    :thumbsup:
     
  9. G a f f e r

    G a f f e r
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,899
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    U.K.
    Ratings:
    +484
    Big THANX to Mick's Cat.......works very well
     
  10. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,926
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +544
    yeah just done it and what a difference.

    Are there any decent headphones for about £25.00 that i should be thinking about getting.

    I cant believe how easy it was todo

    Dal
     
  11. Mark R

    Mark R
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have just downloaded this programme for windows and tried to run it on my 4G 20gb ipod. It says that the pod is not recognised - I have tried both USB and firewire connections but neither works.

    I know that my PC recognises the ipod as itunes works with both USB and firewire.

    Anyone know what I'm doing wrong?

    Thanks

    Mark
     
  12. ericlered

    ericlered
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi mark im guessing that you have to plug your ipod in 1st and have the circular icon flashing "do not disconnect" when you run the gopod program

    thats what i do with eupod and it then "finds" the ipod drive
     
  13. Mark R

    Mark R
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers.

    Have done this and it worked - it now says that the ipod is uncapped. However I'm not sure that I can notice any difference in the level of sound. Am I going mad?

    Have closed the programme down and gone back into it and it still says uncapped.

    Is the volume difference that noticable>
     
  14. ericlered

    ericlered
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Mark

    I have never used gopod so i couldnt tell ya

    eupod makes a hell of a difference to mine though so u might like to go to the official eupod site and check that out, be careful to read about resync tho if u use it
     
  15. mick's cat

    mick's cat
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes it should be noticeable. Maybe you're just going deaf not mad... :D

    You can go back to capped if you want to confirm which it is (mad or deaf), by reapplying Apple's latest firmware. Then just reapply goPod to uncap again.
     
  16. Waser

    Waser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,002
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Purley, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +69
    If you have a windows PC then iMod is the program of choice on the www.ipodlounge.com forums. I don't have the link for the app handy but you can do a search at those forums and find plenty of threads. it has been proven to work on the 4G iPods. Apprently it improves the sound as well as removing the limiter.

    I haven't used it on my 4G iPod yet but I plan on doing it this weekend. I find the iPod max volume loud enough, I'm more interested in the sound improvement.
     
  17. G a f f e r

    G a f f e r
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,899
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    U.K.
    Ratings:
    +484
    only gopod and imod modify the firmaware to uncap the volume limit of the ipod.

    the others (like eupod) just alter the tracks volume settings and do not alter the firmware (despite what their readmes say)


    don't use EUpod/ipodvolumebooster etc etc,
    use imod or gopod
     
  18. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,926
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +544
    i cant tell the difference big time and so can the other half. Infact i can hear her using it in the bedroom now as i type this

    Dal
     
  19. geewhizz

    geewhizz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,406
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +84
    I done it the other day and i noticed a big difference.
    the only downside is with the extra volume is,
    I can now tell how rubbish the earphones are,
    so will go and get new ones. :suicide:
    fanx alot
     
  20. davehk

    davehk
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    702
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +45
    I used GoPod on my new 4G 40Gb unit last night and noticed no difference at all. Also, imod does not appear on the ipod lounge forum anymore (well I couldn't find it, anyway)
     
  21. davehk

    davehk
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    702
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +45
    But, having not used my Ipod for 48 hours, it went into cold-start mode and now the volume cap has been lifted!

    Now I expect I'll get the ******* disk error next time I hook up to Itunes and have to run Chkdsk on it!
     

Share This Page

Loading...