• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Ipod Touch Display questions

bwfc0907

Hi

I'm a newbie with very little understanding of this subject.

How many colours can the ipod touch display? I cannot find the answer anywhere.

Will a screen size of 4" 640x480 260k TFT give a better or worse image than the touch.

I'm trying to decide if a touch plus a standalone satnav is better than a pda with integrated gps (Ipaq 214). Main use would be as a media player.

I have posted in here as I fancy the touch. However I am worried about how small the screen is (despite only a 1/2" smaller than on the ipaq I think it may be better for viewing) and that come October a 2nd gen machine may be out.

Autopilot

Distinguished Member
Dont get too tied up in colour depth. the Touch is very good. And there are other issues, like viewing angles, contrast ranges, pixel density, performance in sun light etc that decide how good a screen is.

ver

Dont get too tied up in colour depth. the Touch is very good. And there are other issues, like viewing angles, contrast ranges, pixel density, performance in sun light etc that decide how good a screen is.

I had the touch for xmas from the wifey and all I can say is its a amazing! I wasnt too fussed by it initially but now I'm going to sell my video ipod. (wifi connects flawlessly, screen is good and the touchscreen is intuative)

I too thought about a pda/gps combo or a standalone gps after my old tomtom failed. I went for a tom tom again as the gps fix is so quick to get satellite and its so user friendly and plug and play. (I have used tomtom on a HTC Tytn Phone and also have the N95 8g and deffo recommend tomtom and touch - but if you were looking at designated media player what about an archos system with the bigger screens?

bwfc0907