1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

iPod or HD3...Please Help!!!

Discussion in 'Headphones, Earphones & Portable Music' started by bushhpd, Mar 3, 2005.

Tags:
  1. bushhpd

bushhpd
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Guys,
    I am looking into buying my first MP3 player, and would really appreciate a few pointers from some experts! To keep things simple I am choosing between the 20gb iPod and the Sony HD3. I can see the difference in size, looks, battery life etc. but would appreciate a few pointers in some less obvious areas:

1) Ease of Music Transfer: I have never used MP3 before, and have all my collection on CD / Minidisc, so getting the music onto the MP3 player as easily as possible is important, (it sounds like SonicStage is a nightmare?)

2) Sound Quality: How big is the difference between Atrac and MP3? Also how do they both compare to LP2 recordings on Minidisc, which is what I currently use?

3) Playlist Flexibility: A big attraction of an MP3 player for me is the ability to create custom playlists using various tracks from various albums, and then being able to play tracks randomly from within that playlist. My impression is that the iPod is better than the HD3 in this regard, is this correct?

I know the iPod Vs. HD3 has been covered extensively on this forum already, but any pointers would be much appreciated!

Cheers
    Hugo

2. 'dozer

'dozer
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am facing the same problem. My thoughts are:

It sounds like SonicStage will be quite painful to use the first time when loading up all existing CDs. After that loading the occasional CD should be bearable. I am willing to live with this because of the longer battery life of the HD3 and what appears to be better sound quality.