1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

IPOD is dead :(

Discussion in 'Headphones, Earphones & Portable Music' started by monkeyleader, Dec 6, 2003.

  1. monkeyleader

    monkeyleader
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +90
    Pants ! Tried a firmware upgrade as music downloads were taking an age - it crashed halfway thru the upgrade and really messed the ipod up :mad: :mad:

    Ive now managed to get the IPOD back down to 1.3 and it boots with the meus etc .. but when i try and transfer music via musicmatch, itunes or Ephpod it bombs - makes a clicking noise (harddisk error ) and the fails to copy ...

    Thoughts - Im lost without it :( :( :(

    Nige
     
  2. tvr

    tvr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Messages:
    434
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Bucks
    Ratings:
    +4
    Which version/size IPOD are you using?
    Are you using firewire or USB?
     
  3. monkeyleader

    monkeyleader
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +90
    Its the old 20Gb version - windows - firewire.
     
  4. tvr

    tvr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Messages:
    434
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Bucks
    Ratings:
    +4
    I had a similar experience with mine when it was new.

    It too crashed on firmware update, rendering the iPOD useless - same clicking noise from hard drive - although mine wouldn't boot up at all.

    In the end I reformatted it and reverted to original firmware using the CD that came with it.

    Then managed a successful upgrade to latest version. (in my case v2.1 on a 40Gb)

    Are you putting it into disk mode before trying the update?
     
  5. monkeyleader

    monkeyleader
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +90
    So it now allows me to boot the system up and even copy some songs onto it - but ephphd seems to mess with the songs when it copies them - only half the song is there and they are all mixed up - planning on using the original CD 2nite - will let you know.

    Nige
     

Share This Page

Loading...