1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ipod help needed

Discussion in 'Headphones, Earphones & Portable Music' started by MARTIN TURNER, Dec 6, 2004.

Tags:
  1. MARTIN TURNER

MARTIN TURNER

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    my hard drive on my pc has gone belly up losing two ipod libraries in the process being a computer novice i need the simplest way to retrieve the libraries from the ipods before i lose them. i bviosly cant just put theem back on the new hard disk as when they autosync yhey will find itunes empty and clear themselves off.thx guys. :lease:

2. suzywong

suzywong
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can disable auto-synchronisation in iTunes.

Could you do that and then transfer the libraries from iPod to PC?

3. Jason S

Jason S

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Turn off auto sync within iTunes and enable disk mode
    Use copy pod (freeware) to extract the music files from your ipod http://www.copypod.net/
    Recreate the library folder using iTunes and then re-synch.

Not sure if you can fully backup playlists, ratings etc with the latest version, but you can definitely extract all your music files.

4. LinkinRuss

LinkinRuss
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    jason, it states that the software is a trail version....did u get it form somewhere else?

5. Jason S

Jason S

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got it from the link above, but I may have an earlier version as I've had it a while.

Looks like it's only $9.50 and to be honest it's worth it for the peace of mind of being able to back up your iPod. If it's just to rescue the files though, you can stick with the trial version.

6. AgeOwns

AgeOwns
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0