1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

IPOD - 30g any in stock anywhere???!!

Discussion in 'Headphones, Earphones & Portable Music' started by Argento, Jul 16, 2003.

  1. Argento

    Argento
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm based in Cardiff, and am having a hell of a job getting one of these things!

    Anywhere/anyone please help!

    Rich
     
  2. Argento

    Argento
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Or a mail order company will do.....

    ta


    Rich
     
  3. Argento

    Argento
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone.......


    Please....:rolleyes:
     
  4. neilo

    neilo
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,564
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +21
  5. Argento

    Argento
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks - but all are out of stock!

    One question (BTW) for someone who knows - the new ipods work on mac or pc and with firewire or usb - right?


    Rich
     
  6. Argento

    Argento
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Rang around everywhere I can think of.... any more ideas folks?


    Rich
     
  7. alanrob

    alanrob
    Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,375
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +235
    Have a look on Ebay. There always a few on the go.
    I'm sure they work on both Mac's & PC's, but as for USB it requires an addon that hasn't been released yet (as far as I'm aware).

    Thinking about one too, but I ain't paying all that money for one.
    Might just get a smaller (and older) one of Ebay.
     
  8. Argento

    Argento
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The e-bay ones seem to be the older models.

    I want to get a new one.

    Any more ideas folks!?


    Rich
     
  9. alanrob

    alanrob
    Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,375
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +235
  10. neilo

    neilo
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,564
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +21
    surely apple.com can get you one ? with a wait ?
     
  11. dave_b9000

    dave_b9000
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    164
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    be careful with ebay that it isn't coming from the states as you will likely be hit with heafty customs charges. (& it'll have an american power plug.)
     
  12. Argento

    Argento
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks folks - just ordered one. Should be here tomorrow.

    All I need now is a supplier of Griffin iTrip!!!

    Any ideas?!

    Rich
     
  13. neilo

    neilo
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,564
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +21
    where did you order from in the end ?
     
  14. Argento

    Argento
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  15. neilo

    neilo
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,564
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +21
    yeah thats where I got mine
     
  16. Argento

    Argento
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Neilo - How easy are they to use? I have a firewire connection in my PC for video editing (mini-dv) - this should work shouldn't it?

    Also - how long to get a 45 minute CD onto your ipod?

    Rich
     
  17. neilo

    neilo
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,564
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +21
    It took me a while to set it up had major probs with my external hardrive crashing.............you get musicmatch with it as the software you can use that to rip your cds ...use http://www.ephpod.com/ to organise yor tracks and tag them..I found this better than MM for the Ipod ..............and yeah I use my firewire port...and it takes seconds for a cd to be transferd..anymore questions just ask matey
     
  18. Argento

    Argento
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the quick reply!

    What Bitrate do you recommend - 192 seems to be a popular choice..... I will be using the cd rom tray on my pc for the Cd's....

    Also - Is there anything I can do in advance of it coming - ie - rip my cds to my pc? - If so what format etc..... Or shall I just wait -
     
  19. neilo

    neilo
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,564
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +21
    yeah 192 or above ..rip your Cd to file in Ephpod you can add by directory...so it will transfer everything in that folder ...I use mp3's
     
  20. Argento

    Argento
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm stunned it just seconds for a whole cd. Am I missing something?!

    CD in pc tray. Ipod connected to pc with firewire cable, and use the correct software!?

    Is it really this easy!?

    Cheers again!

    Rich
     
  21. neilo

    neilo
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,564
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +21
    all you are doing is transfering mp3's from one drive to another .... The Ipod is another hardrive connected to your PC and firewire transfer is pretty quick Im sure someone here would know the transfer speeds....
     
  22. Argento

    Argento
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Amazing.

    One last question - I promise!

    Can you recommend any sites where I can find/download mp3's from?

    Thanks again

    Rich
     
  23. neilo

    neilo
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,564
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +21
    no probs Im always full of questions too..... there are plenty of site out there I use kazaa lite.... but only for listening purposes of course I buy the Cd ;-)
     
  24. Argento

    Argento
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    whats the address?
     
  25. neilo

    neilo
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,564
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +21
    errr do a search cant post Illegal stuff here
     
  26. Argento

    Argento
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks neilo - sorry to ask!

    Rich
     
  27. neilo

    neilo
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,564
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +21
    no worries
    you may be dissapointed in the volume of the Ipod if you are I can help ya out
     
  28. dave_b9000

    dave_b9000
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    164
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    do you have a solution to the volume capping?
     
  29. neilo

    neilo
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    1,564
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +21
    not a real one..but if you get Xplay you can "turn up the volume" of all your mp3's
     
  30. Argento

    Argento
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Whats XPLAY?


    Rich
     

Share This Page

Loading...