iPhone 4S Network Searching.... Vodafone

Discussion in 'iPhone Forum' started by melmorc, Dec 23, 2011.

Tags:
  1. melmorc

    melmorc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,463
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Lytchett Matravers, Poole
    Ratings:
    +156
    HI there

    Phone and all was working all fine last night and i switched it off. When i turned on this morning, it would not connect to Vodafone signal and is constantly searching.

    I've reset network settings and done the press home button & power button topgether but it's still searching.

    The Voda network is ok as i've got a spare phone on Voda that's working fine - any ideas please?

    Ta
     
  2. melmorc

    melmorc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,463
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Lytchett Matravers, Poole
    Ratings:
    +156
    and i've just removed the sim card (and left it out of the phone) and turned phone on and off and it's still searching. I thought it would have said no sim??
     
  3. Stinja

    Stinja
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    12,673
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +4,121
    It seems to be a known issue, and the "special" iP4S iOS 5.01 got released which only fixes this issue:
    New iOS 5.0.1 Build 9A406 Intended to Fix 'No SIM Card' Errors on iPhone 4S - Mac Rumors
    I get "Searching.." too, typically after i move out of network coverage, and it can take quite a while to refind the provider. This can then lead to a kernal crash, as i think it either overheats or runs out of resources.
     
  4. melmorc

    melmorc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,463
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Lytchett Matravers, Poole
    Ratings:
    +156
    Thanks Stinja. I tried my micro sim in a friends iPhone and it worked fine. I assume i'll need to try the restore first to force the "special" iOS 5.01 (9A406) as currnetly i'm on 5.01 (9A405).

    My phone just keeps saying "searching" all the time.

    Roll on home time!!
     
  5. melmorc

    melmorc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,463
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Lytchett Matravers, Poole
    Ratings:
    +156
    Just finished the download and restore. Then restored phone from my back up and Voda is back :)

    Just hope I don't have to do this too much! Took about 1 3/4 hours in total!!
     
  6. melmorc

    melmorc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,463
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Lytchett Matravers, Poole
    Ratings:
    +156
    And I'm now on 9A406
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice