1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ipaq & tomtom BT Blues

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones Forum' started by PFM, Aug 26, 2005.

1. PFM

PFM

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +17
    Hi,

I just got me a 3517, with tomtom 5 and a BT-308 gps unit. I have paired the two units, and installed the software.

The Ipaq can see the GPS and the GPS blinks at the corresponding rate for a connection.

However, tomtom 5 cant see the GPS unit even when I configure the gps in tthe tom tom menu.

I'm a bit of a newb to satnav software, is there something I've missed?

2. Crocodile

Crocodile
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,673
    Yes - you've missed the fact that TTN5 has more bugs than a Pixar movie!

Downloading the 5.1 patch here may help, otherwise you may have to configure the GPS as a wired device. Details of how to do this are listed on Tom Tom's site.

3. Dillz

Dillz

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +8
    I have Ipaq, Tom Tom 5, and BT-308 and I have to configure my TomTom gps as "Other Cable NMEA GPS", Baud Rate 38400, and Bluetooth Com 8.

Hope that helps

:)

4. PFM

PFM

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +17
    Hi Folks,

I tried the other cable option and still have no joy :(

I have installed globalstats own piece of software for checking the sat status and can see/read all of the satellite positions.

but still no tom tom recognition - even to the point where it seems to disconnect the bluetooth signal

5. Crocodile

Crocodile
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,673
    I think outbound bluetooth on the 3715 is Com6.

Have you installed the 5.1 patch?

6. Moviebuff

Moviebuff

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +233
    I've gone back to TT3 - I found the bugs, even in 5.1 unbearable to live with.