Invisible sound card

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by shodan, Sep 19, 2004.

  1. shodan

    shodan
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    11,632
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    shoeburyness
    Ratings:
    +6,652
    Bit of a complicated one here... A while ago my computer had a nasty virus which ended in me having to do a System Restore after the advice of HP who built the machine.

    Since then, my sound card hasn't worked. The computer knows what it is and what it does and it's listed in the Sounds and Video bit but the option for choosing a sound playback device is greyed out.

    Anything to do with audio results in the computer telling me things along the lines of "There is no sound device attached".

    I've checked all the drivers and codecs and they are all up to date and I've done just about everything else I can find and think of and now I'm at my wits end!

    Any of you clue-ed up computer folks able to help me?


    It's about a 20ft drop from the window to the floor so I really don't think any part of the computer would survive that....
     
  2. Greg Hook

    Greg Hook
    Moderator & Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    23,117
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    In a secret location with Jennifer Lawrence
    Ratings:
    +10,006
    Have you tried removing the sound card and putting it in a different slot?
     
  3. shodan

    shodan
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    11,632
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    shoeburyness
    Ratings:
    +6,652
    I even took it out completely and uninstalled it and set the machine to use the on board one but it still isn't letting me choose a playback device!
     
  4. shodan

    shodan
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    11,632
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    shoeburyness
    Ratings:
    +6,652
    Anyone?
     
  5. ReggieDaMole

    ReggieDaMole
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    The fields of Anfield Road
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can you get your hands on a copy of XP (home or prof) Do a new install. The system rebuild is an image which sound like is not completely adjusted for your hardware. A fresh install of XP will find all your hardware (more than likely) and if not, new drivers are available from HP.com.
     
  6. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +482
    Did you put it back in the same slot though?
    I have had similar problems in the past which could only be solved by putting the card in a different slot.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice