1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Internet browsing

Discussion in 'PS Vita Forum' started by spikey1, Sep 26, 2005.

Tags:
  1. spikey1

    spikey1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    458
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    Just got a PSP and all seems to be working fine including getting movies onto the memory stick.

    The only thing I can't seem to do is get online with it.

    Now bear in mind I'm a complete novice. I seem to get a connection via games (although couldn't find anybody else playing) its trying to browse normally. I get to the WLAN scan page the can't seem to get further than the ssid screen when close to a wifi point.

    The only time I've got in is through somebodies private router with no security!!!! so its working I'm just doing something wrong.

    Can somebody give me an idiots guide as from the PSP screen I'm not sure what else to do.

    I've got firmware V 2.0.

    Cheers.
     
  2. tobyjuggler

    tobyjuggler
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    629
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Have you got your own wireless router connected to t'interweb?
     
  3. chrislad

    chrislad
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5,644
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Rep. of Ireland
    Ratings:
    +141
    Most routers have WEP or WPA security. Basically it's a hex password. If you don't know it, you can't get on. WEP seems to work across the board with PSPs. WPA is touch and go. Use a WEP first and it should work.
     
  4. spikey1

    spikey1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    458
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    Thanks for the replies, I'm not trying to connect through my own router (I don't have one yet).

    I want to connect when out and about via WiFi hotspots.

    I thought you should just be able to scan and connect but presumably there's more to it.

    Can anyone explain how to go about it, surely you don't need a password for each hotspot.

    Thanks again.
     
  5. chrislad

    chrislad
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5,644
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Rep. of Ireland
    Ratings:
    +141
    You should be able to scan and connect to public hotspots. Make sure the connection type isn't Ad-Hoc. Also, you have to save the settings before you connect, and move left/right to change settings.
     

Share This Page

Loading...