Intermittent "Limited or No Connectivity"

kryten22uk

I have a Belkin G+ MIMO wireless router connected to my ADSL broadband. I have been using it with my XP laptop for 8 months, but occasionally (every fortnight say) when I log on to my laptop the system tray would tell me that the wireless has "Limited or No Connectivity". The connection to the router is "excellent", but there is no access to the internet. Disabling then re-enabling the adaptor does nothing, and the only fix is to turn the router off for 10secs (ensuring that my laptop is also off). Then when I power everything back, its all hunky dory again. It wasn’t happening too frequently, so although it was annoying it wasn’t critical, so I lived with it.

Now I have bought a new Vista laptop too, and the issue is happing on that laptop too. But now the problem is appearing every day, not just fortnightly. On the Vista machine it cant connect to internet and says "identifying" network when I hover over the wireless icon.

Seems like the whole issue is around the PC's not consistently gaining dynamic IP addresses.

So my queries are:
Anyone have suggestions or solutions as to the problem?
Am I missing something special I have to do when using two laptops off a wireless router?
Is it a router problem (I have until March on the warranty, and was planning on taking it back to PC World for an exchange)?

Is Belkin a very shoddy brand or is it a coincidence that their products seem to be causing a lot of problems on various forums etc?

Ta

shandyman