1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

interlaced or progressive?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by kwijibo, Nov 27, 2004.

  1. kwijibo

    kwijibo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    475
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +2
    I have my Pioneer 757 DVD set to progressive, but when watching DVDs and pressing 'display' on the remote for my 43MXE1 plasma, it says 625i.

    Is that right?
     
  2. mcav

    mcav
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    456
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +58
    Pretty sure the i is for interlaced.

    and a p would be for progressive.
     
  3. kwijibo

    kwijibo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    475
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +2
    thats kind of my point. What have I done wrong?
     
  4. mcav

    mcav
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    456
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +58
    It must be product specific but I am sure you're screen must be set up to display interlaced as oppossed to progressive.

    Your player is outputing progressive scan, but the screen may be displaying it as interlaced.

    This is only a guess, but I'd imagine there is a setting in the screen which says to accept a progressive scan feed.

    Maybe????
     
  5. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Silly question I know, but.... are you feeding the TV with component video (i.e. Y, Pr, Pb ) ?
     
  6. kwijibo

    kwijibo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    475
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +2
    yes, the DVD player is outputting component
     
  7. kwijibo

    kwijibo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    475
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +2
    Is it to do with PAL or NTSC? Maybe my DVD doesn't do PAL progressive? Anyone?
     
  8. MarkB4506

    MarkB4506
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +4
    That may well be it.

    Plasma screens cannot display interlaced images - the reason for the onboard deinterlacer - so 625i means it's receiving an interlaced image which it then processes for display.

    When the 757 first appeared it could not output 625p. So if you see 525p when you play an NTSC disc then that could well be the problem.

    There was a firmware upgrade to enable 625p for the older machines.
     
  9. Ged

    Ged
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    925
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    I have the 757 and it does PAL and NTSC prog scan, it came with an addendum to say some Pioneer plasmas cannot handle PAL prog scan.
    I am sorry, but I do not know which model, if I find the instructions I will post.
     
  10. Ged

    Ged
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    925
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    Just checked, it refers to the HDE range.
     
  11. kwijibo

    kwijibo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    475
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +2
    can any of the installers shed some light on this one?
     

Share This Page

Loading...