1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Interim format for home video stuff?

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by Maximum Bob, Jan 3, 2005.

1. Maximum Bob

Maximum Bob

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Question on best format to store edited extracted DV output? (forgive any ignorance, I am new to this).

I have lots of miniDV and Video8 tape material (usual home family stuff), which I can extract off my V8 and DV cameras.

I would like to tidy up (cut-out pauses and general rubbish) this “raw material” and save to disk for later editing and writing to DVD and MPEG2.

What is the best (highest res, max quality) format to store this “interim” content for later final editing? I don’t want to keep the original extraction off the cam-corders, as there is as much as 50% rubbish there taking up valuable space.

I do final outputting as MPEG2 (from Studio 8), for convenience, should I use this format for my interim files as well (is that what Studio 8 uses anyway)? Or is there something better, which Studio 8 does not give me as an option?

2. laser

laser

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +28
    Hi

I do the same thing and store all material as AVI files before the footage is edited and converted to MPEG2 for DVD.

I cut out the main sections which I know I will not use, this usually gets rid of 60% of the footage. The rest is then stored as AVI until I get round to the fine editing of individual frames. This mainains the best quality and requires no additional encoding after capturing from mini dv or S-VHS.