Intelligent Mains Panels

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by dankell, Feb 10, 2009.

  1. dankell

    dankell
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +3
    Just about to take the plunge into a nice big LCD screen and thought I'd green it a bit with one of these

    But first thought I'd see if anyone had any experiences - good or bad

    Dan
     
  2. Andy98765

    Andy98765
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,474
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,367
    Not really ideal for a TV. Switch the TV off and everything else goes off, hi-fi the lot or do you intend when listening to music to have the TV on?
    I do use one on a PC and it is excellent.
     
  3. stevelup

    stevelup
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    6,795
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +1,298
    I'm completely unconvinced by them.

    So you plug your TV in the master socket and all your other kit into the secondary sockets....

    As soon as you turn your TV off, you lose power to your Sky box, DVD recorder, media centre, and everything else that you would want to be left on!

    To determine whether or not it's worthwhile, you would need to think about which devices you would be happy to be off when the TV is off.
     
  4. holiver

    holiver
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    235
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +20
    Just buy a TV with an "off", and I mean fully off, not this standby rubbish button. Saying that, my old TV did consume something like 0.2W when in standby.
     
  5. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    I've got one and it's great - obviously you don't plug some things into the switched outlets :rolleyes: . My TV and freeview box are on the unswitched outlet whilst my DVD, Wii, BFD, subs and active speakers all power down when the AV amp does.

    The Freeview box stays on for recording purposes and the TV stays on as it seems to lose it's settings if powered off for a long time - otherwise that would be in the switched loop too as that also only gets used with the amp. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...