1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Integrating 2 channel & HT, right or wrong?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by HiFiFan, Mar 15, 2004.

1. HiFiFan

HiFiFan

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good afternoon All

Recently, within the last 12mnths, I have embarked upon adding HT capability to my existing 2 channel stereo setup.

I have many years of experience in 2 channel music systems, but am finding that HT is really another ball game, and some advice would be greatly appreciated.

My 2 channel setup is Naim-Audio, re CD player, pre-amp, pre-amp power supply, poweramp and speakers, the SBL's which are a back to the wall design as regards placement.

To this I have added Sony ES series gear; the 9000ES DVD player, TAE 9000ES pre-amp/processor, and 5 channel multi-mode power amp, the TAN9000ES, and a pair of Tannoy MX2's for rear surround duties.

The reason for integrating is primarily one of space, only having one room at my disposal to do both duties. The main left and right front outputs run from the processor, to the Naim pre/power, and thence the SBL's, and the rear outputs to the Sony amp, which runs in 2 channel mode and drives the Tannoys. I am happy enough with the sound, but wish to complete the setup with the addition of center speaker and sub.

Essentially, there are two possible routes that I have identified.

One would be to add an matching Naim center channel speaker, some matching rears (floorstanders) and either a 3rd party sub, or when it eventually arrives, the Naim sub.

The major drawback to this is primarily expense, and what I perceive as value for money as regards the HT environment, and priorities for spending that money to get the best improvements, and it is here that I am hoping that some of you much more experienced HT afficianados may be able to help.