1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Integrated TVs can you connect another box.

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by Ian C., Jul 14, 2004.

  1. Ian C.

    Ian C.
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    690
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +35
    Not seen this in forum can anyone help! I am thinking of getting an
    integrated tv JVC HV32D40 but only problem is that you can only
    record what you are watching if you dont have say cable tv as well.
    Can you connect a freeview box to give you the extra tuner to record
    while watching another channel or does a dvd recorder give you this
    option I cant find answer.This as always been possible with analogue
    I bet a lot of people get freeview boxes home thinking it will be as
    before life just aint that easy geesh!
     
  2. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    Buy a Freeview PVR - record using this and watch live TV on the TV tuner
     
  3. Ian C.

    Ian C.
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    690
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +35
    :suicide: Thanks Martin I thought that there me be another way but that is the only
    option.
     
  4. Ian C.

    Ian C.
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    690
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +35
    It was staring me in the face these integrated sets have analogue and digital
    tuners so you can record digital and watch analogue I was not bothered about watching digital at same time, no need for Pace or Humax box after all! :clap:
     
  5. TV Headache

    TV Headache
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    242
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'll give you a month (two at best) before you get tired of trying to synchronise your TV channel timer, your VCR timer, getting a free patch of tape cued-up and making sure that the other program you wanted to catch is on analogue. And as for trusting your IDTV and VCR to 'play nicely' together whilst you're away on holiday... forget it! One of them is bound to mess-up (and blame it on the other one! ;))
     
  6. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    Analogue is crap anyway - just get a PVR it makes sense - until you buy one you won't realise how good it is.

    BTW recording off an IDTV is messy!!
     
  7. Digiman

    Digiman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    367
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +17
    Ian C, I dont know if your VCR is TVlink/smartlink compatible but if it is then you only have to program the TV or hit record, which aint so bad, and, as you say, watch analogue. If your budget can stretch get a Freeview box as well so you can record freeview and watch freeview independently. If you win the lottery this week then get an HDD recorder as well. Personally I like the Pana e85 so you can transfer some recordings to DVD. You can then set up you DVDR to record programmes in advance and, on occasions where there is an overlap, your VCR can record freeview from the TV if needs be. Sorted. Oh yes and get a multiremote with macros to get everything set up just right. The Home Theatre Master MX-700 does the job perfectly.
     
  8. TV Headache

    TV Headache
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    242
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    But how would you record from digital channels? It seems to me that all these 'fully featured' DVD recording devices are an expensive waste of time without a digital tuner.
     
  9. Digiman

    Digiman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    367
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +17
    tv headache - far from a waste of time imo. A dvd player, far better pq than any vcr, rec+play, etc. I would prefer a digital tuner but an stb on rgb is perfect. Programming would probably be slightly easier but pq much the same. Wait for a dvdr with idtuner, epg, cam, progressive, same features as analogue models, dvd-ram, etc? I wouldnt and am pleased i didnt. Its humming away right now saving all my favorite progs. I did originally buy an e60 (without an hdd) - that was a waste imo. Still it was cheap combo and is ideal in bedroom as 2nd vcr/dvd player.
     
  10. TV Headache

    TV Headache
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    242
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    But without an EPG don't you still have to manually synchronise the two recording events (one on each box) and then manually enter the title of the recording? If I want to record in full digital quality I just call up the EPG, select the event from the schedule and press 'OK'. Then when it's recorded the program title appears already on the recorded program list (as provided by the EPG event data).

    And as far as 'cheap' is concerned, I find that hard to understand when the combination of DVD recorder, plus set-top box (and extra scart cable) is going to cost you the thick end of £600. Compared to other DVD/HDD combis it may seem cheap, but compared to a £150 Humax PVR? £450 is a big premium to pay for the occaisional archive (if you re-watch stuff as infrequently as most people I know).
     
  11. Digiman

    Digiman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    367
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +17
    TVHeadache, you can set it up to record as the STB goes on and off - so that saves programming twice. You are right, titles are only done on analogue recordings. The jury is still out on whether a good analogue signal is better than digital but you don't have to record using the STB. Thumbnails are there so you don't need to title everything either. You may want to click on the EPG but after you've missed the first or last bits of everything you record, you may change your mind.

    When I said cheapo I was referring to the E60 which was less than £300. I have my old Ondigital box in bedroom and a spare scart. It is a DVD player too. The truth is I wish I had waited and just bought the E85.

    The E-85 was £500. Ouch. Again I had a Netgem box already so I did not factor in the cost of an additional stb (or scart cable). I'm sure the Humax is very good (although I hear noisy, dont know about features or pq). To compare in the same way as you, the premium of £450 needs to be reduced by the cost of a DVD player and a scart lead! With a 40gb hard drive you need to keep holidays short and religiously watch what youve recorded when you record it. I know my 80gb hard disk filled up quite quickly but with archiving or recording direct to DVDRam its no problem. I archive mainly films (after removing the adverts etc) and rewatchable stuff like Friends (for my wife of course). If you've got a video camera its good for that too. You can back up your retail DVDs if you are inclined and of course share your recordings, video footage and photos. In my case, for an additional "cheapo" £300 I can even record downstairs and watch it upstairs!

    Is it worth the premium? I think so. Scrubbing some recordings or transfering to VCR (if you factor in a VCR too) would be a shame. Would waiting for a ID DVR be a good idea? Probably - just depends how good you are at waiting.
     
  12. TV Headache

    TV Headache
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    242
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thumbnails - Good point, nice feature.
    Noisey? Not mine.
    PQ? Great. Being all-digital it records whatever the broadcaster sends so no decoding and re-coding to introduce those lovely MPEG concatanation errors.
    DVD player - Hasn't everyone got one of these already? :)
    40Gb full? - Hasn't happened so far in 7 months. I take the view that if you've got 20 hours of recordings backed up you're never going to get around to watching all of it so probably OK to delete a film or two before you get completely full.
     
  13. Digiman

    Digiman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    367
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +17
    TVHeadache, if, as you say, you delete stuff which you haven't had time to watch then your disk will not get too full. The films were probably not worth watching anyway.

    One thing I was not aware of was that the Humax can't play a recording while recording something else. Its the old VCR scenario. I'll knock another £50 off the premium for that (even though I know its not something you would use).

    I think the problem is we are comparing two things which both do what they say on the box very well. A mini and a ferrari are both great cars but you don't need to see them race. :)
     
  14. tichtich

    tichtich
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    Ratings:
    +33
    I have an IDTV (Panasonic TX-28DT30) with Q-link to my DVD recorder. Yes, the IDTV has its own timer programming feature and can kick off the DVD recorder at the programmed time. But the software is so badly designed and unreliable that I generally prefer to record analogue, using the recorder's own timer. Other IDTVs may be better, but it seems IDTV software is not as good or as well supported as the software in STBs, especially those from specialist companies like Humax.

    Last time I looked (a good few months ago), IDTVs were costing about £100 more than an equivalent analogue TV. If you buy the analogue TV and a Humax PVR (about £150), this only costs £50 more than the IDTV, and you're getting the benefit of hard disk recording and probably better software. That's what I'd probably do in your position. Either that, or I'd make do with analogue until there's a really good twin-tuner PVR available. (I think the ones currently available have too many limitations.)
     

Share This Page

Loading...