1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

integrated freeview tv

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by vespaman71, Oct 8, 2004.

  1. vespaman71

    vespaman71
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi ive just purchased a sony freeview tv but really wanted a top up tv can i upgrade to top up tv without buying a box.my tv has no card slot. :confused:
     
  2. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    You will need a CAM an old Ondigital one may work - check with Sony - cards currently are a problem - you can only use official ones.

    A new SECA2 CAM is about £50
     
  3. vespaman71

    vespaman71
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    sorry im a bit thick whats a cam and where does it go
     
  4. GaryB

    GaryB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,341
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    St Albans
    Ratings:
    +1,264
    Your TV should have a CI (Common Interface) slot somewhere on the back. You can buy a Top Up TV (Conditional Access Module) for about £40 to plug into the CI slot. Then you put your Top-Up card into the CAM and away you go. It's best to check at www.topuptv.com that your set is compatible before you buy the CAM. Their site also has more detailed information on how it all works.
     
  5. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    Please note that TUTV is only 4 1/2 channels (basically half of SDN) so you get bits here and there.

    Also CAM is quite pricey and you have to pay an extra £20 for the connection, if you lapse a couple of months you have to pay another £20 to get reconnected.

    It is expensive and limited compared to Ondigital, to be honest I would be surprised if it lasted a whole year.
     
  6. vespaman71

    vespaman71
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanx anyway
     
  7. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Sky have an offer £150 no monthly subs and contains most of the channels TOPUPTV give IIRC
     
  8. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    One thing I will mention just about the best digital TV picture you will get is from a Sony IDTV running on its own tuner.

    TUTV would be cheaper than sky to get but it is limited, however there are some gems on Freeview.

    ABC1 is great - OK I like Moonlighting

    UK History is good - OK I like war machines (eg anything Merlin powered)

    And the 2 music channels are good

    AVFORUMS voted for Freeview - we did a poll which I reckon accounted for a large percentage of replies for ITC.
     

Share This Page

Loading...