Insurance advice needed after bump

Lakes_Puma

Hi all, I hope someone can shed a bit of light as to what is likely to happen next with my insurance renewals etc.

I have been driving for about 18 years without an incident (speeding or accident) but last Friday I “rubbed” into another car, the bottom line was I found myself in the wrong lane approaching a roundabout and indicated to move across into the left lane but no car was letting me out and as I was rapidly running out of road I tried to move into the gap between two cars but the front car stopped at the roundabout (which as far as I can recall back was empty) and I caught the off side rear wing of the other car. No one was injured and the total damage was a bit of a ripple to both the other cars rear wing and my front wing.

Now this is where it gets complicated, I have two cars both insured with different policies I use one for commuting work (the car I was in the accident with) and have the other car for “pleasure”. I’ve only just purchased the “work” car so had no no-claims bonus on it anyway, but I have full no claims bonus on the other car.

So what is likely to happen when I come to re-new the insurance on both cars (at separate times)?

welshtommo

Novice Member
The most likey scenario is that both your premiums will increase. You are required, by law, to declare your accident to both insurance companies, even though the accident you had was not in your "pleasure" car. Your no claims for the work car is not an issue, because as you say, you don't have any. You are likely to be penalised on the other policy unless you have a protected no claims option?