Installing Sky+

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Monkey Alan, Mar 7, 2005.

  1. Monkey Alan

    Monkey Alan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +39
    Is it possible to install sky+ without me drilling another hole in the wall an getting a new lnb?

    Is there something wrong with just spliting the signal after it comes through the wall?
     
  2. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    If the existing hole is big enough then inserting two cables or a shotgun cable is possible. SKY+ uses two tuners so requires two independent inputs to make full use of it's abilities so the cheapest option is to fit a twin or quad LNB.

    Since SKY+ uses two tuners and both of those tuners communicate with a LNB by sending a tone/voltage then you can see why a single cable carrying two sets of commands to a single LNB would cause problems as it requires those commands to switch between Horizontal and Vertical polarities and High/Low bands.
    One tuner asks for one setting and the other another so at anyone time it's possible to have no access to half the channels that you are payign for.
     
  3. GGTVBD

    GGTVBD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bradford, West Yorkshire.
    Ratings:
    +323
    Alan,

    Yes, you need an LNB with at least 2 outputs. Quad LNB's are routinely supplied with Sky+ systems. You can't 'split' the signal.

    CT63 'shotgun' cable will fit through the existing hole in the wall. You won't get another standard cable through unless the hole is bigger than Jordan's. :D

    A. Dork
     
  4. kennysatman

    kennysatman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  5. Monkey Alan

    Monkey Alan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +39
    Cheers guys that info really helped me.

    What I'm getting so far is

    1 skyware quad lnb
    8m of CT63 cable, 4 F connectors

    So I think all I need now is the sky plus box it self. Whats the best one to get? And where from?

    :thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...