Installing SKY+ Box

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Scottyhull, Jan 11, 2012.

  1. Scottyhull

    Scottyhull
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, my digisend has just conked out on me. So i thought i would just get a Sky+ box and install it my self. i just need a couple of queries/questions answering.

    I currently have multi-room and paying that extra £10 a month (Which i hate; per usual). i have front room with Sky+ and kitchen with Sky. i now wish to have Sky+ in the bedroom and the dish i directly out my window.

    So could someone correct me if im wrong. ive done some research about this and it seems that i have a Quad LNB becaus ei alreayd have sky+ and multi room. so i need to take a MF100 cable from dish to new box. plug in box and cables etc. so ive already got multiroom will this just work if I put my sky+ viewing card in??

    If im incorrect what do i need to do so i dont pay £10 extra??

    Thank you in advance
    Scott
     
  2. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,973
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    Hi and welcome to AVF, especially if you're in or from Hull.;)
    To be clear - you have a PVR with two connections to the LNB, and a Sky receiver with one - right?
    That leaves you with one connection for a third machine.
    If you want to change the multiroom subscription from one machine to another you need to call Sky.
     
  3. Scottyhull

    Scottyhull
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeh i am :)
     
  4. Scottyhull

    Scottyhull
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i think that is correct, yeah i need a third machine and can i not use both all 3 boxes without paying extra £10 per month?

    Thanks
     
  5. Stevenage Neil

    Stevenage Neil
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,829
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +897
    Eh?
     
  6. Scottyhull

    Scottyhull
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I mean all 3 lol
     
  7. Scottyhull

    Scottyhull
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I need a way to have all 3 sky boxes (1sky & 2 sky+) working I know how to plug them in just getting them to work cards ect! Without paying that £10 p/m
     
  8. Stevenage Neil

    Stevenage Neil
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,829
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +897
    We'd all like to know that.
     
  9. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,973
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    A Sky+ PVR needs two connections if you want to record one channel while watching another.
    A Sky receiver needs one.
    The dish has four, so you can work out the combinations for the three machines that you have!
    When they're connected to the dish all three machines will work.
    Only the two that are covered by the multiroom subscription will record - if they're PVRs of course.
    The other will get the free channels.
    If you want the multiroom to cover a different machine you call Sky to "pair" that with the card.
     
  10. davemurgatroyd2

    davemurgatroyd2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    8,561
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Oxford
    Ratings:
    +1,327
    Without paying a second £10 per month for an additional multiroom card you will not get the subscription channels and Sky+ recording features on the third Sky box and you will only get the FreesatFromSky channels and no recording features.
     
  11. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,973
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    You think a Yorkshireman is going to buy a FSFS card?
     
  12. MartinPickering

    MartinPickering
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4,954
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Greek Island
    Ratings:
    +507
    He's in Hull. I come from North Yorkshire and Hull is way down south. So it can't be in Yorkshire!
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice