Installing Freesat in Paris

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by kevismit, Aug 18, 2012.

Tags:
  1. kevismit

    kevismit
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi, I am going to install Freesat in Paris shortly and have purchased Humax Foxsat HD (single channel), 80 cm dish, Quad LNB (for future expansion) and Konig sat-finder. As I understand it I must enter a UK post-code (to enable local channels) and either zone 1 or 2. As Paris is just about Zone 2, can entering a UK midlands post-code (zone 1) cause any conflict in the system? Or, do I need to set zone 2 and say a Scottish/Northern Ireland post-code? To test the equipment before departing France I assume I enter actual midlands post-code, Zone 1 and when finished do a factory reset, ready for Paris? Look forward to any replies. KSS :rolleyes:
    PS what action in the Humax occurs when selecting either zone 1 or 2?
     
  2. Vin Blanc

    Vin Blanc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    368
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    New Milton, Hants
    Ratings:
    +57
    Set up your Humax at home using your West midland (I presume) post code and carry out auto-tune to get all the Freesat channels.

    When you get to Paris, all you have to do is set up and aim the dish correctly, no need for any further tweaks to your receiver.

    By the way, a 60cm dish would have been perfectly OK for Paris.

    Vin Blanc
     
  3. REPASSAC

    REPASSAC
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,961
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Perchede 32460
    Ratings:
    +448
    80cm will just about do all over France (for the moment anyway).
     
  4. Vin Blanc

    Vin Blanc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    368
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    New Milton, Hants
    Ratings:
    +57
    Zone 1 and zone 2 are terms normally associated with $ky dish sizes.

    Zone 1 – 44cm and Zone 2 – 60cm.

    With all non $ky type dishes we normally just refer to them by size e.g. 80cm.

    At present, to receive signals from Astra 1N ($ky and Freesat) a 40cm dish will work about as far south as Paris.

    A 60cm dish will work almost down to about Avignon and in some cases even further.

    An 80cm dish will get you almost to Barcelona on a good day.

    Three years ago I managed to pull in all Freesat channels just north of the Millau viaduct with only a 37cm dish but that was very much the exception.

    Of course, things may well change once we lose Astra 1N at the end of the year.

    Vin Blanc
     
  5. kevismit

    kevismit
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi, thanks for the useful replies. Good idea to set up just once in UK. Reason for the 80 cm dish is that my daughter has close very high but not particularly dense foliage trees. However i notice a neighbour has a Sky type elliptical dish pointing thro' the trees at Astra, so it must work. So selecting Zone 1 or 2 in the Humax does what? does it vary the gain? KSS:rolleyes:
     
  6. Vin Blanc

    Vin Blanc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    368
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    New Milton, Hants
    Ratings:
    +57
    I have no idea what these two zones might refer to in a Humax receiver!

    I have a Humax HDR but to the best of my knowledge the two zones that you mention only apply to $ky dishes.

    Can anyone enlighten us?

    I don't think the size of dish will do anything to improve your line of sight through the trees.

    Vin Blanc
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2012
  7. roland seal

    roland seal
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +38
    " i notice a neighbour has a Sky type elliptical dish pointing thro' the trees at Astra," A lot of people imagine that the dish looks directly at the satellite but with the usual dist, which is called "offset" the dish is acting very like "in off the cushion" as played in billiards and such games. So when trees appear to be in the way the LNB which is located on the arm of the dish is looking much higher.
     
  8. kevismit

    kevismit
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi Roland, i appreciate what you say and i shall have a look. However these trees are about 50 ft high and about 40 ft from the proposed dish position. In my current location the data from Dishpointer.com shows Elevation 24.3, Azimuth 144.6 and Skew -13.3. How is the Azimuth calculated? If Astra is at 28.2 then 180- 28.2 = 157.8 which is not the same! So when i set up do i point at 28.2 from South or 144.6 from North? Am i being dum cos i realise Astras position is different for wherever you are and does Magnetic/Real North affect it? KSS :rolleyes:
     
  9. GaseousClay

    GaseousClay
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    5,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7,709
    The latter.

    Dishpointer should give you the option to display Azimuth @ true north or magnetic north
     
  10. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,759
    Use the "obstacle" option at dishpointer to find out exactly how high the trees can be.
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2012
  11. kevismit

    kevismit
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi, thanks everybody. Think for the moment have exhausted my questions. Will knock up a solid/sturdy frame tomorrow and give it a wizz. KSS :thumbsup:
     
  12. REPASSAC

    REPASSAC
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,961
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Perchede 32460
    Ratings:
    +448
    Remember to check both 28.2E and 28.5E Skew is a bit different.
     
  13. Vin Blanc

    Vin Blanc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    368
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    New Milton, Hants
    Ratings:
    +57
    If you are setting up with a compass then you need to use the "magnetic north" bearing.

    28.2 East of south is the position at which Astra 1N is parked over the equator, not where you should aim your dish.

    In regard to the trees and line of sight, see previous thread "No line of sight southeast" dated 25-07-2012. Thumbnail attachment in my post number 21.

    Vin Blanc
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2012
  14. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    24,447
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,159
    There isn't a zone 1 or 2 setting on a Foxsat. The nearest I can think of is they have a high power setting for the lnb to enable use with very long coax connections. The post code you enter is merely used to provide the local programming regional variations for BBC1 at 101, BBC2 at 102, ITV1 at 103, ITV1-HD at 119 etc. Every postcode gets ITV1 London at 977 and all the BBC SD regions as well. Whatever postcode you use you can move any of the BBC regions to 101 and 102.
     
  15. roland seal

    roland seal
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +38
    "So when i set up do i point at 28.2 from South or 144.6 from North?" I believe the easiest way to do this set up is to point your compass to the south at mid(ish) day, you never know the sun might be there, and you will find the satellite 28.2 degrees to your left in the east. There is a magnetic consideration but trial and error will result in success. I live in northwest France, near Dinan, and use a 60inch dish with excellent results. Full deflection on both signal strength and quality. Good luck. Compared to installing a motorized dish it's a dream.
     
  16. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    24,447
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,159
    Enter your location in Satellite Finder / Dish Alignment Calculator with Google Maps | DishPointer.com and choose 28.2E. You get a google earth picture with the direction to the satellites plus settings for elevation and skew. Zoom in and drag the pointer to the dish location.

    The satellites are above the equator at 28.2/28.5E. The compass bearing depends on your latitude and longitude. The further South you are the more easterly the compass bearing. If you were to go 0deg N, 28.2E the satelliite would be 22000 mls straight up.
     
  17. kevismit

    kevismit
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks for all the useful comments. Found in the manual 9.1 item 4:- "9.1 Freesat Tune
    1. PresstheMENUbutton. 2. Select Setup using the􏰀/􏰁button and press the
    OK button. 3. Select Freesat Tune using the􏰀/􏰁button and
    press the OK button. 4. Enter your region code. 5. Please note that once you perform Freesat Tune,
    all freesat channels will be deleted. Select Yes and
    press the OK button to delete all freesat channels. 6. Select Search and press the OK button to search
    channels. 7. The channel search will start. 8. To stop the search, press the OK button during
    channel search. 9. The results will appear. Select Save and press the OK button.
    Note: If there are no channels available, a message indicating the result will pop up."
    There is no mention of a Zone setting in the initial start-up procedure. KSS :thumbsup:
     
  18. Stiggy

    Stiggy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    6,725
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Sandy Heath
    Ratings:
    +1,043
    Do you really have to type $ky?

    Can't we put that text in the swear filter to stop people using it? :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 19, 2012
  19. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    24,447
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,159
    The option is used to retune the freesat channel line up after you have correctly installed Freesat (Easy way to do this is simply do a factory reset and follow the on screen prompts). The manual tune option lets you add all free to air content to non-freesat mode wherever your dish is aligned on, unlike Freesat mode it ignores the UK postcode you supply.
     
  20. Vin Blanc

    Vin Blanc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    368
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    New Milton, Hants
    Ratings:
    +57
    Sorry you find my use of "$ky" so irritating Stiggy.

    I promise I won’t use it ever again, – honest!

    Perhaps in return you might try to encourage all those who inflict their bad grammar, bad spelling and/or lack of punctuation on the rest of us to try using the "spelling & grammar check" facility before posting, because that’s something that really irritates me.

    Come to think of it, I think I know of someone living on a Greek island who sometimes feels the same way. :D :laugh:

    Vin Blanc
     
  21. Vin Blanc

    Vin Blanc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    368
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    New Milton, Hants
    Ratings:
    +57
    Is that 22,000 miles above the eastern Congo GT?

    Vin Blanc
     
  22. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    24,447
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,159
    Pretty much :D. Boot Google Earth, enter 0N, 28.2 E. Zoom in to ground zero, zoom out to 22000 mls and admire the view :rotfl:

    About 307 miles due West of Kompala, Uganda,
     
  23. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,759
    He doesn't have to but he can if he wants to.
    No, we can't.
    You don't have to go to Crete to find people who dislike errors in text - Yorkshire will find you one.
    AVF doesn't mind the errors - and the idiosyncrasies - though and expects posters not to comment on them.
     
  24. Railway

    Railway
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    721
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +105
    If people can't take a joke they shouldn't join! :laugh:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 19, 2012
  25. GloopyJon

    GloopyJon
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    8,844
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Brussels
    Ratings:
    +5,757
    If you can install the dish higher up, that will help with the line of sight. For instance, if you can install it at a height of 20 feet, the effective height of the trees will only be 30 feet instead of 50 feet. Dishpointer will tell you if that's ok.
     
  26. kevismit

    kevismit
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi Guys, thanks for all your input. Built a wooden frame today held down with breeze blocks, mounted dish and eureka i have Freesat. Hope the wind doesn't get up in the night cos i've left it outside. Next stop Paris and those darn trees. Anyway thanks again for all the help. KSS :clap:
    PS 80 cm does look big against my other (nameless) elliptical dish.
    First time i've seen HD. Pretty darn cool.
     
  27. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,759
    Agreed, though there's a problem - knowing what's meant as a joke and what isn't.
     
  28. Vin Blanc

    Vin Blanc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    368
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    New Milton, Hants
    Ratings:
    +57
    Followed your instructions GT but all I got was an optional list of Canadian addresses.

    :lesson: I managed to trace the satellite’s position over the equator by entering Astra 1N on Dishpointer.com.

    Zoom out then drag the map and follow the pointer line down to its origin in the Democratic Republic of the Congo. – Then zoom in again.

    Unfortunately, Dishpointer does not give an "elevation" above ground level but for those wanting to see the view enjoyed by Astra 1N at 28.2º East of South –

    In Google Earth, type in (or copy & paste) 0.030899 28.226747

    This should pinpoint The Maiko National Park at a point roughly 20 miles east of Angumo.

    Zoom out till the "Eye altitude" (bottom right corner) reads 22,000 miles.
    …………………………​

    For Astra 1 at 19.2º East of South, enter 0.015684 19.213502

    This location is about 70 miles east of Mbanaka.

    Not sure of exact altitude of the satellite but it is probably similar to Astra 1N.

    Vin Blanc :smashin:
     
  29. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    24,447
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,159
    They all have to be the same geosynchronous altitude (22236 mls). If they weren't the orbit period would not be identical to the Earths rotation (1 sidereal day ( 23.934461223 hours) and therefore would not appear stationary to an observer on the Earths surface.

    First suggested by Arthur C Clarke and now known as the Clarke belt.
     
  30. Vin Blanc

    Vin Blanc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    368
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    New Milton, Hants
    Ratings:
    +57
    Sorry to be a pain GT, but if the satellites are all at the same height, (which seems to be a very logical statement).

    Why does Astra 1 at 19.2 E require 3.2° (1353 miles) more dish elevation than Astra 1N ?

    Following figures from Dishpointer.com for my location.

    Astra 1 at 19.2 East = elevation 28.6° - distance 38,739 km (from my back yard)

    Astra 1N at 28.2° E = elevation 25.4° - distance 39,032 km (from my back yard)

    Give or take a yard or two – excuse the pun! :D

    Vin Blanc
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice