Insight on my custom build?

Mike45450

I'm buying a new system, though it's my first time building it from scratch with components. Could you guys just give some insight into whether or not everything is compatible, and if I need to make any adjustments?

* Gigabyte GA P35C DS3R
* Intel Core 2 Quad Pro Q6600 "LGA775 Kentsfield" 2.40GHz (1066FSB) - Retail
* Corsair 2GB DDR2 XMS2-6400C5 TwinX (2x1GB)
* Leadtek GeForce 8600 GT Extreme 256MB GDDR3 HDTV/Dual DVI (PCI-Express) - Retail
* Western Digital Caviar SE16 320GB 3200AAKS SATA-II 16MB Cache - OEM
* 530w Tagan EasyCon TG530-U15 2Force Silent Modular
* Lian-Li PC-7 PLUS Aluminium Midi-Tower Case
* Pioneer DVR-112D 18x18 DVD±RW Dual Layer ReWriter
* About £20 for some fans

Altogether comes to about £606 (mix of scan.co.uk and OCUK). I'm probably gonna need to downgrade some stuff like the CPU and GPU since I may need a monitor to go with it too. It's gonna mainly be used for things like graphics (Photoshop and maybe some 3D stuff), gaming (though not too hardcore) and other basic crap.

But yeah, any major issues with compatibility or any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

D

Deleted member 188495

ok, your better of getting a e6850 for the things you do, there is no need for quad unless you run a number of intensive programmes at the same time or you are into video editing, which quads love. for photoshop a faster 3ghz e6850 will beat the quad, gaming the dual core wins. so i would stick with the e6850.

Mobo- dont get the p35c just get the p35 ds3r, as you dont need ddr3 ram its a long time till ddr3 ram actually becomes useful, maybe 2 years from now. and the p35 OC's better much better you can hit 3.7ghz and more with good cooling with the e6850.

I think you are wasting your money with the 8600 gt, the x1950 pro will kick its ass- its much better for gaming at 90 pounds. and if you dont game that much its good when you do want to game. but the 8600 gt is a rubbish dx10 card a waste of your money!!!!