Insert your Sky viewing card

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Conn, Sep 14, 2005.

  1. Conn

    Conn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,056
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +170
    I use a Sky box to view the free channels, no subscription. Tonight I have lost ITV1, C4, 5, and ITV2 with the Insert your Sky viewing card message coming up. The BBC channels and ITV3 (for some reason), plus all the usual shopping rubbish, are working fine. I have tried switching off at the wall and cleaning the card, no joy. Any clues?


    Not best pleased as it means I missed Lost :(
     
  2. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    Well it sounds like the smartcard is no longer valid, ITV3 is FTA so does not require a smartcard and pretty soon neither will ITV1 and ITV2.

    If your card was directly obtained from SKY by yourself then contacting them may get it re-activated or if it had been left out of the STB or it has been switched off for a while it may just have missed the authorisation commands and will re-activate itself after a couple of days.
     
  3. robbierroy

    robbierroy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    396
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    I had a similar problem this afternoon when I returned home from work, but my viewing card is valid. I did the usual, switched off at the mains, etc. When I switch back on - still the same problem.
    I repeated the process and now it is fine. The sky guide background and logos have changes so I guess it must have been a software update that caused the problem.
    Robbieroy
     
  4. Conn

    Conn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,056
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +170
    Thanks for the suggestions. Still not sure what happened but it is working fine tonight without having done anything...maybe it was a software update, don't use the menus enough to recognise any change ;)
     
  5. mjcairney

    mjcairney
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    6,917
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Airdrie, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +871
    Don't know if you are aware, but Lost is repeated on Channel 4 on a Saturday evening.

    Cheers,

    Martin.
     
  6. Jules1975

    Jules1975
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sunday at 7 isn't it?

    Edit - 6.35 this Sunday.
     
  7. mjcairney

    mjcairney
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    6,917
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Airdrie, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +871
    Yes Jules1975, you are right, it is 18:35 Sunday - they must have changed it, as it did used to be Saturday evening.

    Anyway, Conn, enjoy!!

    Cheers,

    Martin.
     

Share This Page

Loading...