1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Infocus X1 Focus Problem? or general issue?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by starfire, Nov 12, 2004.

  1. starfire

    starfire
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    366
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +25
    Hi All,

    I'm very happy with my X1 but have an issue with the focus'ing:-

    If you were to divide the picture up into 4 quadrants, I can adjust the focus and get it pin sharp for the top left but slightly out of focus for bottom right, or vice versa.

    ie. I cannot get the complete projected picture in pin accurate focus

    You can only really notice this when I've got it connected to my PC displaying the windows desktop and its not majorly out of focus, just slightly but noticeable from my viewing position (5ft wide screen, seated 12ft away).

    I've got no keystone applied, confirmed thats its firing directly at my screen, and obviously tried changing the focus and zoom to no avail. I've also tried a couple of different graphics cards in my PC.

    When playing movies its much less of an issue anyway as obviously only the centre portion of the screen is in use.

    Has anyone else seen this issue on the X1 or any other projector? Is it a common thing?

    I spoke to Infocus and they want to take it away and repair under warranty but this will take time, while I can't be using it, and I think they may just return it saying no issue found.....

    Thanks,
    Simon.
     
  2. starfire

    starfire
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    366
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +25
    Bump.. :)

    Anyone?
     
  3. chukkychukky

    chukkychukky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    116
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +5
    I've never noticed this on my X1 with movies or computer display. I usually focus the text in the menu and the whole picture seems to be InFocus (couldn't resist, sorry).
     
  4. starfire

    starfire
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    366
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +25
    Thanks for the reply.

    Looks like I may send it off to Infocus then to see what they think - will cost me nothing anyway (apart from lost movie watching :( )
     
  5. starfire

    starfire
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    366
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +25
    Just a followup - InFocus have fixed the focus problem :thumbsup:

    So I'm a happy chappy with my projector back :)
     
  6. minger

    minger
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have just tried the X1 with my pc...I may have this problem. Need to fiddle around with it a bit first though.

    What did Infocus do to fix it ? How long did it take ?
     
  7. starfire

    starfire
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    366
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +25
    They didn't advise what the fix was - but it is VASTLY better now.

    Took around 10 days I think, but that was all shipping to/from Holland. They fixed the unit in one day once they had it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...