1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Infocus X1 colour/brightness setup ?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by sconie, Aug 14, 2004.

  1. sconie

    sconie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    285
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +13
    Having recieved my X1 yesterday, I am very hapy with the PJ, my home made screen and the prog cable, easy to get started out of the box though adjusting the Pj to get a proper screen fit is a bit of a pain.

    Having searched through the forums I have found bits and pieces about adjusting colour/brightness and the like, but can anyone recommend or clarify the settings I should be aiming for, the default picture was washed out looking so I have increased the brightness/contrast and the red and blue a little and it looks a little better.

    Any advice would be great and I will try them out later and report back, as I am sure there will be many new X1 owners on these forums now it can be picked up for £563.
     
  2. dazmanultra

    dazmanultra
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same projector, just projecting onto a white wall at the moment. I have it set to "video" mode, with the brightness on 58 and contrast on 62. I have reduced the green to 45 and the blue to 45.

    Seems to work quite nicely at the moment... althought i'm always fiddling!
     
  3. sconie

    sconie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    285
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +13
    Thanks I wil fiddle this evening, the "video" mode , is that in picture settings ?
     
  4. theritz

    theritz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,451
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +27
    Have you checked out the X1 link in the FAQ ? Lots of X1 goodness in there............ :cool:


    Sean G.
     
  5. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Best option is to acquire a calibration disc such as Avia or DVE, Avia being my favourite & available in the Powerbuy forum.

    :smoke:
     
  6. 45six

    45six
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    67
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    When I click on the FAQ button, I get a search box.
    http://www.avforums.com/forums/faq.php?

    Entering X1 returns no results, can you offer a direct link please ?
     
  7. sconie

    sconie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    285
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +13
    http://members.shaw.ca/technut/x1faq/
    That is the FAQ link, I tweaked again last night, now on high contrast with low brightness higher red mid blue and low green lookks a lot better, though I am hoping to find a richer colour setting, anyone else got any tips (please no high tech geek stuff).

    On another note I have made a nice projector stand that adjusts up and down, I knocked it up out of a B&Q corner shelf, some spare wood and an adjustable bolt from an old vice, very nice setup I have now, thanks to all the tips around here.
     
  8. Paul Williams

    Paul Williams
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    Messages:
    789
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Plymouth/Devon
    Ratings:
    +15
    Hmmmm, I've got to say I've not moved mine away from the factory defaults. Out of the box I got (and still get) a crisp highly defined and colour realistic presentation. Now this has to clarified in so much as I've found the source to be the problem when the picture is less than spectacular. Indeed I probably would be a bit concerned if I had to move the setting far from the standard defaults. My room is very dark and I use a grey screen which of course helps.

    Paul
     

Share This Page

Loading...