Infocus 7210 to Panasonic DVD-S97 DVD Player help!

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Meeko, Mar 9, 2006.

  1. Meeko

    Meeko
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    182
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    My Panasonic DVD-S97 is connected via HDMI to my Denon 3806, and the 3806 is connected via HDMI to the 7210.

    I understand that the scaler in the 7210 should be superier to that in the DVD-S97, and as such I should configure the DVD-S97 to output un-scaled interlace (525i?) over HDMI and let the 7210 do the rest.

    I can't seem to get this to happen. The DVD-S97 only lets me chose 540p, 750p or 1125i. Any tips?

    I'm almost of the impression that DVD PQ is better from my Dell D600 VGA ouput (WinDVD) than the DVD-S97!
     
  2. Timbo21

    Timbo21
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    4,682
    Products Owned:
    4
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +332
    Meeko, the S97 doesn't do 525i (normally it's 576 not 525) over HDMI, & I don't think the 7210 will accept interlaced over HDMI. Your best bet would be to use the component outs on the S97 & there will be an option to output interlaced, thus using all the processing in the 7210.

    If you wanted to feed interlace over HDMI you would need:

    a) a sperate video processor to accept the signal & perform the deinterlacing to send to the 7210
    b) a different player. One that outputs interlaced from it's HDMI. I believe Pioneer 868 & 989's do this & Arcam's DV79 & DV29, but double check on the Arcams.

    T.
     
  3. Meeko

    Meeko
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    182
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    Many thanks for the advice. I've just purchased a Supra HF100 HDMI cable for £130. This was the cheapest cable that supports HDMI1.1 at 12metres. Perhaps I should've got a component cable then, but I was worried about the future copy-protection issues. I use the S97 component output already, to connect to my CRT TV.

    Would I be best leaving the S97 at 540p (I think it was 540p, if not 5xxp) so the S97 does the progressive conversion and the 7210 scales?
     
  4. Oakleyspatz

    Oakleyspatz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,704
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Woking
    Ratings:
    +237
    Try the highest res output from the S97 which is interlaced and let the 7210 both scale it and progressively scan it. Then take a good look at the images and see if you think it looks better.
    I found that sending a 1080i image to my Infocus 7205 looked better than sending a 720p image from my Samsung HD950
     
  5. Timbo21

    Timbo21
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    4,682
    Products Owned:
    4
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +332
    I agree.

    The best results I had was 1080i from my Denon 3910 via HDMI. Or, 576i from the component outputs. The 7205/7210 really does have very good deinterlacing & scaling.
     
  6. Meeko

    Meeko
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    182
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    Thanks guys, will try 1080i and report back!

    Any thoughts on connecting Sky+ to the 7210? I've tried S-vid (Which isn't very sharp and a little washy), and svid-HDMI (via Denon 3806). Unfortunately the Denon converts it to [email protected] and the 7210 stretches this which introduces awful pixels.
     
  7. Oakleyspatz

    Oakleyspatz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,704
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Woking
    Ratings:
    +237
    Buy a scart to component converter from Keene Electronics for about £70.
     

Share This Page

Loading...