1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

InFocus 5700 advice please!

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by PJnewbie, Aug 12, 2003.

1. PJnewbie

PJnewbie

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am new to this but have just ordered my InFocus Screenplay 5700 DLP PJ and now I need to think about the following:

(1) Screen. I want a fixed frame 8ft wide screen, and I hear that a high contrast screen is best for this PJ. Any suggestions? I guess I want a cheaper alternative to the Stewart Greyhawk.

(2) I don't wish to ceiling mount, so figured one of those Unicol trolley/stands would suffice. Does anyone know which version I should order?

Many thanks in advance.

2. Mr Bump

Mr Bump

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    Can't help you on screen, but I really would urge you to reconsider ceiling mounting, unless it is completely out of the question - it just works so much better - having it on a trolley means A) heads can get in the way B) it's closer to you and therefore any fan noise is more apparent C) you end up having to use lots of keystone correction, which is never ideal.

3. venkman

venkman

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    Great choice of projector! I just got my SP5700 yesterday and so far it is fantastic! Even Sky digital through the RGB scart adaptor looks great. Far better than the HS10 I had before. Only negative point is that the colour wheel seems to be quite noisy on mine - makes a high pitched whine. I'd be interested to know how loud yours is when you get it.

Regarding positioning, I would also advise you to mount the pj on the ceiling; the 5700 has an image offset of 33%, so you are likely to need to sit the pj low on your trolley. This combined with the relatively long throw needed means you are likely to have things in the way.