1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Infocus 4805: Hdmi cable connection

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by gm0x45, Sep 23, 2005.

  1. gm0x45

    gm0x45
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,

    I'm using the DVI input of the Infocus to connect to a DVD player with HDMI output, and I noticed that it is very sensitive. I have to fiddle a bit on the M1-DA - HDMI adaptor to lock to the HDMI. How can I improve things? Better adaptor? Clean the M1-DA plug? The HDMI cable is 5 m long.

    Thanks for your help!
     
  2. Knyght_byte

    Knyght_byte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    11,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrow, NW London
    Ratings:
    +599
    sounds like either the adaptor or the hdmi plug that goes into it is poorly constructed......i have a 7205 which is essentialy the same in regards to the M1 socket.....my HDMI lead plugs in nice and tightly to the M1 adaptor, which screws in to the projectors M1 socket nice and snugly too....

    i'd suggest u try either a different adaptor or HDMI lead, or take both back and order the HDMI to M1 lead (i think its available, deffo there is DVI-M1, im sure the HDMI exists, check infocus website)
     
  3. gm0x45

    gm0x45
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +0
    I agree that a M1-HDMI cable , no adapter, would have been nice, but I was not able to find one. And I believe that a DVI-HDMI cable, which you can buy easily, won't work. Thanks!
     
  4. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    24,426
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,592
    gm0x45

    Some of the M1 to HDMI adapters do leave a pretty loose fit with a lot of HDMI plugs.

    Whoever invented HDMI ought to be shot - its a dreadful plug; not having thumb screw to tighten is just plain silly.

    I tend to favour a decent M1 to DVI adapter (Gefen) + a decent HDMI to DVI cable - as your not using the HDMI cable for audio (are you?) you loose nothing in terms of video signal using a cable that's HDMI to DVI.

    I'd try and shift the adapter/cable you have and go the DVI route.

    M1 to DVI and M1 to HDMI cables are still pretty rare.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  5. Knyght_byte

    Knyght_byte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    11,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrow, NW London
    Ratings:
    +599
    dunno where u live but the M1-HDMI adaptor i got is a really snug fit, from Sevenoaks, not sure who makes it tho, was in a plastic bag with no label..lol..cost about £40 tho....
     
  6. CaliforniaSteve

    CaliforniaSteve
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I agree with the guy who said that whoever invented the HDMI connection should be shot. The connection is to shallow for HDMI cords that tend to be heavy. In this day and age, there is no excuse for such lousy design.
     

Share This Page

Loading...