Infinity and phone lines

Discussion in 'BT Broadband' started by ollymoran, Aug 8, 2012.

  1. ollymoran

    ollymoran
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I have a question about infinity. I have BT Infinity fibre optic broadband, currently get 22mbps. Thing is a fault has developed on my phone line where it is all crackly and faint.

    My Question is can a fibre optic connection comming into the house affect the normal phoneline? I have had infinity for about 6 months but this problem has only just occured.

    PS I have done a check on my BT phone line and bt say there is nothing wrong with it, thats why im asking. I would of thought 'no'

    Any answers greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Andy98765

    Andy98765
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,471
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,365
    Are you sure you have fibre into the house. Infinity is basically fibre to the cabinet and then the good old copper wires to the house. I know on new estates BT is using fibre to the house but then you would have something like 38Mb.
    Have you checked your phones that they are not responsible for the crackling.
     
  3. ollymoran

    ollymoran
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have FTTC but was told by an engineer a while ago that this cannot affect your phone line, have checked the phones and they are fine. They are wireless but are digital.
     
  4. m0t0k0

    m0t0k0
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    611
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Bicester
    Ratings:
    +100
    Do you have a dog or cat? check the cable where it plugs into the wall plate
     
  5. ollymoran

    ollymoran
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    have a dog and 4 cats but they cant get to it as it is behind a corner stand with shelves which houses the home hub and modem. connections seem fine to me
     
  6. deathtrap3000

    deathtrap3000
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,441
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +152
    The fibre comes from the exchange carrying your broadband which will stop at the street cab and then your broadband will continue to your home on the normal phone cables. If you have a problem with the phone, and the problem is between your home and the cab, it usually causes issues with the broadband as well. However the broadband wont effect the phoneline.
     
  7. ollymoran

    ollymoran
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I checked my infinity yesterday and it all seems fine. Speeds are ok and is stable. Have not checked in with the wife yet to see if the problem is still there but can't think of what else it could be.
     
  8. wormvortex

    wormvortex
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,757
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    South of Heaven
    Ratings:
    +442
    A line fault outside somewhere. Hardly unlikely or unheard of.
     
  9. beerhunter

    beerhunter
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    6,335
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +740
    That is incorrect the HDSL signal and the voice signal share the pair of wires from your Street Cabinet to your premises.

    Having said that crackly noises are likely be a cabling or exchange fault.

    Call your voice supplier.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice