InfaRed Recievers - HELP ME PLEASE!!!

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by clarkster2005, Jan 22, 2008.

1. clarkster2005

clarkster2005
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Guys - I need some advice please, I'm new to this game so please help if you can.

I am doing the normal these days, fake chimney wall, lcd on there with speakers and a feature (for the missus !).

What I want to do is have all the equipment, (Its not much just sky HD, Amp, 360) all in a cupboard. Not windows vista like some people have done (I don't have the dosh !).

What I need the help for is for infa red controller so I can put the receiver somewhere in the front room and this transmits to the one in
    the cupboard so I can control all the components without them showing. So use SKY HD remote, Amp remote etc all through this reciever.

Where can I get this ???, I have had a quick look and most say they work for all equipment except SKY HD as they use IRDA remotes ?, is this the case ?.

Your help is greatly appreciated and will solve my constant headache when I think about all the work that needs to be arranged.

2. Ambulance Andy

Ambulance Andy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6
    Your request is very near to how I solved my solution. You could use the one-for-all products which are FM IR senders, but they are quite ugly and cumbersome I think even with extension IR eyes.

What I installed was a dicrete solution made by Keene Electronics. www.keene.co.uk

I have my amp, Sky HD, + DVD player all hidden away in an Alphason cabinet underneath my wall mounted TV. I replaced the clear glass fronted cabinet with tempered glass to hide all the AV equipment from distracting my view of the TV.
    http://www.empiredirect.co.uk/conte...pt~ctv~subdept~AVFURNITURE~brand~alphason.htm

I was able to still use the Sky HD throuh the tempered glass, but not the amp or DVD player.