Indy 500 Pole Day

sjbrum

Standard Member
Hi,

Here's aresome photos I took at Pole Day for the Indy 500 a couple of weekends ago. I'm a bit of a beginner and only the second time taking photos at a race with a DSLR (first was the night before), and I'm glad it wasn't in the days of film as there would have been a lot of waste.

Any comments please feel free (but please be kind...)

All photos were taken on a Canon EOS550D with a Canon 55-250mm IS lens.

It was very bright and sunny (hot too - 87 degF (30 degC) air and 120+ (50) track) so my thinking was to set the ISO low to try and get as large an aperture as possible becasue I was shooting through the catch fencing so wanted to minimize depth of field to try and blur it out as much as possible.

I set the ISO at 100 and used Shutter Priority to let the camera sort out the aperture for correct exposure.

With hindsight maybe I should have tried full manual and experimented, as some of the shots seem a bit overexposed (to me atleast). (I had taken Bryan Peterson's book with me on the trip but only read part way though on the flight out. Didn't get to the Blue Sky Brothers until the flight home!)
Also would have been tricky as it was so bright I could hardly see the pictures on the screen to know what the exposure was like anyhow. Plus I wear glasses, and only had sunglasses with me (oops) which made it even more difficult to see the screen.

I was also using single shot. Maybe multi-burst have been a good idea, or would it have just doubled, trebled or more the number of bad shots?

We started off in the grandstand on the outside of Turn 4, so probably about 20m away from the cars which were doing about 225mph.

Starting at 1/200 sec, with a bit of trial and error ended up at 1/400 or even 1/800 which still generated some motion blur on the wheels.

Of about 40 photos taken here, there's one which I think is a good one.

1 - 1/200sec, ISO 100, f1/9, 185 mm

IMG_0009 by sjbrum, on Flickr