Question In ceiling speakers with chromecast audio or similar

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Speakers' started by mcfunk, Dec 29, 2018.

1. mcfunk

mcfunk
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All,

I am an absolute novice, so forgive my ignorance and apologies if this is the wrong thread! I want to install ceiling speakers with multi room / multi zone / smart capability across:
    - a big open basement, with a small sitting area (3x3m), kitchen (3x4m) and a dining area (3x5m)
    - and a separate living room on the ground floor (3x7m)

So a total of 4 zones - with one or two speakers in the smaller zones and two or four speakers in the larger zones. I would like to play music in any combination of the zones, and play one thing on one floor and another thing on another floor. It would also be great to hook up the TV to the speakers too.

I looked into Sonos, Bose etc, but they are so expensive and I'm not sure they offer the flexibility I want. So I was thinking of getting a bunch of passive ceiling speakers e.g the below. I would then run all the cables to some dark corner of the house and give each zone it's own amp and chromecast audio.
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/PyleHome-PDIC60-Ceiling-Speaker-System/dp/B0007LCL90

I bought a pair of these speakers to test their quality, along with the below amp board. I powered the system with an old 19.5v/90w laptop charger and played music from my phone.
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B071RDT3L4/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1