1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

importing processor from america

Discussion in 'AV Pre-Amp/Processors & Power Amps' started by tmcevoy, Apr 14, 2004.

  1. tmcevoy

    tmcevoy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi
    Does anyone know what the costs are if you import an ex-dem processor fron the U.S. ie. duty and vat and is there any way of keeping the costs down
    Thanks a lot
    Tony
     
  2. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    pick it up and put it in your hand luggage!

    Large value items always seem to be caught..... ive been caught everytime with anything over £500

    ad
     
  3. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    No advise on illegal activities please. :nono:

    Reiner
    Moderator
     
  4. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    well i will give advice as to say that anytime the item leaves the country after you bought it, make sure you pee off the customs people by insisting on a tax and vat refund. I got caught on a video card which i paid vat on when i got it. I sent it back because of a fault. When i got a replacement, customs charged me again..... they wouldnt listen to me or the supplier when we told them it had already been paid.

    ad
     
  5. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    If you send items for repair (that were imported by yourself) declare them accordingly under the purpose of shipment, e.g. "Return for repair".
    Instruct the other side to do so, too, when they ship it back and add a "Declaration for customs purposes only, no commercial value".
    Done it before and it worked fine.
     
  6. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    thats what we did..... I sent it back as a faulty item and the US customs didnt have issues. When it came back to me as a replacement, i still got caught because there was no physical proof that that wasnt just a lie to avoid fees. This isnt helped by the fact that irrelevant of the value being nil..... customs insisted on using the ups documentation which stated the full value for insurance purposes.

    real bugger and has made me very bitter towards customs in general.

    ad
     

Share This Page

Loading...