1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

importing ISCAN

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by garyc, Jul 4, 2005.

  1. garyc

    garyc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Messages:
    866
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Jersey, Channel Islands
    Ratings:
    +13
    Hi,

    Does anyone know of any difficulties that you might get importing an iscan from outside the uk?

    ie. voltage, setup, etc


    cheers

    gary
     
  2. David Mackenzie

    David Mackenzie
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,310
    Power-wise you won't:

    http://www.dvdo.com/faq/faq_app.html

    Check out these Datasheets, they confirm that they are set up for Universal voltage.

    I'm not too sure about video formats though. I'd be surprised if they didn't support 50hz standards to some extent, but hopefully someone else can give a better answer for that part.
     
  3. garyc

    garyc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Messages:
    866
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Jersey, Channel Islands
    Ratings:
    +13
    cheers Lyris

    all looks ok from the web site, I'm guess the power cable is not hard wired allowing you to change plug types

    Gary
     
  4. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,803
    the only issue you are likely to have is support should anything go wrong.

    gordon
     
  5. Josh@dvdo

    Josh@dvdo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Gordon is exactly right. If you import an iScan product into the UK service MUST be done in the U.S. as OWL, our UK distributor, will not (rightfully so) service an iScan product that they did not import.

    The power cord is detachable and easily replaceable with a UK-friendly power cord.
     
  6. garyc

    garyc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Messages:
    866
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Jersey, Channel Islands
    Ratings:
    +13
    thanx guys for raising the support issue.

    but just out of interest I'm guessing from looking at the dvdo web site its a single generic model that is produced for all countries. So would the uk distributor be to concerned if the unit was put in for servicing(faulty) and being prepaid to pay the cost for the repairs?

    no warranty issues! but how reliable are these units anybody had cause to return any?

    cheers

    Gary
     
  7. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    24,283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,573
    garyc

    Both DVDO and OWL Video have Service departments - the DVDO products are in my experience no more or less liable to fault than any similar technology but things can and do go wrong at times.

    Will OWL service an Imported unit? Best to ask them in advance and get an idea of the costs involved in say swapping out a main board if there was a problem with your unit.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  8. Ultraviolet

    Ultraviolet
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    143
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    Gary

    I imported an IScan from the States via Lenexpo-Electronics.com, then had it upgraded to HD+ via JVB Digital in the Netherlands (I couldn't find any companies in the UK to do the upgrade)

    Might be worth being slightly conservative on the value estimate when importing though, to avoid any duty issues.

    Had no problems whatsoever, and use almost every feature (all optical audio switching). I'm now looking to get the unit ISF'd to get the best out of it.

    UV
     
  9. garyc

    garyc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Messages:
    866
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Jersey, Channel Islands
    Ratings:
    +13
    Hi,

    I'm a bit puzzled maybe someone in the know could answer this, the iscan ultra is it a de-interlacer and scaler or just a de-interlacer. If it is not a scaler is their anything to be gained in picture quality over a dvd player outputting a de-interlaced signal so the only advantage is the video switching and de-interlacing of the other components plugged into it ie ps2 tivo etc?

    What is the reason for buying just a de-interlacer when you can buy one box with a scaler built in as well, say a lumagen?

    cheers

    Gary
     
  10. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,803
    The Ultra is an older product and is just a de-interlacer. It was designed when there was more demand for quality de-interlacing for use with crt projectors and older fixed pixel devices. You would probably find that the de-interlacing capabilities of the Ultra are still superior to that of most progressive scan DVD players, unless you want to spend a few bob.

    Gordon
     
  11. garyc

    garyc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Messages:
    866
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Jersey, Channel Islands
    Ratings:
    +13
    hi gordon,

    thanx for your reply, I have a arcam 88+ how would that compare in your opinion, but if it came down to an ultra or a lumagen the ultra is probably not money well spent? although a lumagen is going to be more dosh!

    cheers

    Gary
     

Share This Page

Loading...