Importing into Adobe Premiere Pro

TheDevil2004

Standard Member
Hi there

Im a novice at all this. I have been given a copy of Adobe Premiere Pro 2.0 to get the hang of it before I actually purchase some software. They are all quite expensive so I want to make sure I know what Im doing and that the software it right for me first.

Finding it very difficult so far, cant even open anything that I have recorded. I have used my Mums camcorder that writes straight to DVD, I have copied all the files to my desktop but how do I now open them in the software?

The files extensions are .IFO + .VOB

If I can manage at least this then I can have a play around and hopefully learn something.

Thanks for any advice.

P.S: Is this software any good, going to be purchasing a hard disk camcorder myself soon and would like some software that can work with both formats.

bsuttie

Novice Member
Hi

Copying the files off the DVD and trying to import them isn't really the way to do this. It can be done, but involves jumping through a few hoops.

The .ifo file is an information file that tells the DVD player what is contained in the .vob file. The .vob file is a multiplexed stream of MPEG video plus audio which can be in different formats - ac3 or pcm usually.

There may be some simple home editing packages that can read vobs directly but I'm pretty sure PP2 doesn't. (only have access to 1.5 here).

So you would have to rip the video files out of the DVDs, transcode them to a format that PP does support then import.

A much easier way is to use firewire which most digital camcorders have to "Capture" rather than "Import" your material.

Check to see if that camera has a firewire port, and add one to your PC if necessary.

PP is a very good package, but is also quite deep so be prepared to spend a lot of time learning how to get the most out of it.

regards

Brian

jaymac

Novice Member