1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Importing an iPronto

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by Planet__, Feb 2, 2005.

  1. Planet__

    Planet__
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    292
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +10
    Hi folk.

    Like the title suggests, has anyone imported a Philips iPronto from the States and does it work over here - network compatibilty etc. At under £400 minus any import tax etc, it seems a bargain!

    I see on Ebay there are some available real cheap but most won't ship here. One I saw asked for over £100 for delivery, it was UPS next day though!

    If only I could make a tablet pc a remote control...
     
  2. scrowe

    scrowe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Brighton
    Ratings:
    +177
    £400 is very cheap, are you sure you can source at this price?

    I imported my iPronto from the US around 6 months ago via www.bluedo.com, and the price looks about the same as I paid then $1300 or so including UPS. Mine worked out around £750 as it didn't attract any VAT or Duty.

    TSi6400 is the model no. in the US and all you need to source in the UK is a standard kettle lead that plugs into an ordinary PC or monitor. You can then set it up as UK EPG, etc. with no problems.

    The only issue you have is warranty. If it goes wrong you don't get worldwide cover so would have to ship back to the supplier.
     
  3. ta1

    ta1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Were you just lucky in no customs charge or is that the case with remotes? :)

    Thanks,
    Ta
     
  4. Planet__

    Planet__
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    292
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +10
    The one I saw was on Ebay, of all places. It's sitting at $599 or £318.76, but has a pretty high delivery charge!

    I've just bought a piece of Philips hardware, the SL400i and after all the problems I've had with it's going back once I can find it in the back garden :mad: . Body swerving all Philips products from now on.
     
  5. scrowe

    scrowe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Brighton
    Ratings:
    +177
    Just lucky, although some suppliers will do you favours if you ask
     
  6. ta1

    ta1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks scrowe ;) . Will just have to find one of those suppliers.
     

Share This Page

Loading...