1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Importing a Laptop from USA?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Oasis-GasPanic, Feb 27, 2005.

  1. Oasis-GasPanic

    Oasis-GasPanic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2000
    Messages:
    543
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    South West London
    Ratings:
    +5
    I was thinking of importing a certain Dell Laptop from the US and was wondering what (mains power wise) I would need to do for it to work here? Any idea's.

    Cheers,
     
  2. Werner

    Werner
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    probably nothing.

    the ac/dc's are allautosensing nowdays, so work with various input voltages

    Of course, Dell has been known to do weird things in the past, but as long as the ac/dc is autosensing the only grief you will have is the keyboard layout being US and not UK,

    edit: of course, you would need to chop off the plug and fit a uk plug yourself IF the adapter is autosensing. This would then go against some EU regulation saying all equipment must have moulded plugs and not screw on plugs, so maybe better to get a us-->uk plug adapter.
     
  3. shezzy2k

    shezzy2k
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    492
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +26
    I'm sure that you've already considered this but just in case, be aware that the keyboard on any US sourced laptop will have a US keyboard with some UK characters missing. You can change the settings within windows to a UK keyboard and from there you just have to remember the relevant keys. I imported a Sony Vaio from the US a few years back. The keyboard didn't bother me as I saved about £1500.00. :D
     
  4. dealmaker

    dealmaker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2001
    Messages:
    740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    nearly in Scotland!
    Ratings:
    +1
    Would'nt happen to be one of the new inspiron XPS Gen 2 units would it??

    been thinking of importing one of these myself so interested to see how you get on!
     
  5. Andyuk911

    Andyuk911
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    413
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    My company supply US laptops to Uk based staff.

    I find I hit the right keys when using it, despite the wrong character on the keyboard
     
  6. Oasis-GasPanic

    Oasis-GasPanic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2000
    Messages:
    543
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    South West London
    Ratings:
    +5
    OF COURSE! :D :D



    Thanks for the replies people, appreciated! :smashin:
     
  7. Oasis-GasPanic

    Oasis-GasPanic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2000
    Messages:
    543
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    South West London
    Ratings:
    +5
    Oh! What about if I were to get a certain Dell 24' LCD screen, could I just order a UK power supply from Dell UK???

    Cheers.
     
  8. MPK

    MPK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    479
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +8
    Should work, in theory. But be aware that Dell US will not deliver outside of the US, as they would otherwise undermine their own rip-off pricing policy that charges UK customers about twice the amount of US customers. This means you will need to send it to a U.S. address and in that case you'll have problems paying by credit card as your billing address is not your delivery address etc. etc.
     
  9. Xelon

    Xelon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    391
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +53
    Noticed the new UK dell Inspiron XPS9300 on sale now, has the Geoforce Go 6800 PCI-X option not the Ultra option though, is the XPS Gen2 being released here in the UK?
     
  10. dealmaker

    dealmaker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2001
    Messages:
    740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    nearly in Scotland!
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yeah, I'm still thinking of buying the 9300 - my Dell account manager doesnt think they will ever sell the XPS Inspirons here - not enough demand - looking at the specs then it appears yu can almost spec. a 9300 up to that level anyway - so I don't know what you are getting in the XPS other than the different case?

    The main thing that puts me off buying from USA is the excellent service I've had from Dell UK when things go wrong - which they invariably do!
     
  11. Oasis-GasPanic

    Oasis-GasPanic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2000
    Messages:
    543
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    South West London
    Ratings:
    +5
    It seems Dell UK have confirmed they will be selling the XPS Gen 2 as of March 15th!!! :clap: :clap: :clap: :thumbsup:
     
  12. Xelon

    Xelon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    391
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +53
    Where did you get youre info from Oasis? Ani info on Pricing? (Over 2K I suspedt if fully specced)
     
  13. Oasis-GasPanic

    Oasis-GasPanic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2000
    Messages:
    543
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    South West London
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi Xelon, I read it in a few places. Here's the link to one http://www.trustedreviews.com/article.aspx?art=1090 it don't give a price but I suppose we'll all know (how much it will cost) in two weeks or so.

    I've only just realised to purchase a xpsG2, I'll have to sell my "Baby" centrino with it's flawless 1680x1050 screen. The XPS screen better be as good at showing HD material as my current lappy is.
     
  14. dealmaker

    dealmaker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2001
    Messages:
    740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    nearly in Scotland!
    Ratings:
    +1
    Bugger Bugger Bugger.

    Now do I buy the 9300 or wait two weeks and see what the pricing is on the XPS Gen 2 ?????? :confused: :confused: :confused:

    Like the specs of the XPS - but must say I find the styling a little too,....erm...."street" for my tastes! Think the 9300 is a better looking package.
     
  15. Stellavision

    Stellavision
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,286
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Southsea, UK
    Ratings:
    +96
    This has got me thinking...I wonder if I can pick up a cheap laptop on my forthcoming trip to Florida. :D
    I've been after a laptop for ages.
     
  16. dealmaker

    dealmaker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2001
    Messages:
    740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    nearly in Scotland!
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thinking about it - I'm not a gamer - so what difference will I see with the XPS Gen 2 over a specced up (with the 256mb video card) 9300 ???
     
  17. Xelon

    Xelon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    391
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +53
    Very little difference if youre not a Gamer, I think the XPS Gen2 has a different Colour Scheme, LED Lighting theme and the Ultra version of the already powerful Geoforce 6800 Go. Havn't completely discounted the th3 Inspiron 9300 yet, depends on pricing when announced.
     
  18. dealmaker

    dealmaker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2001
    Messages:
    740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    nearly in Scotland!
    Ratings:
    +1
    Agree. If it's between £100-£150 more than a specced-up 9300 I might consider it - but in reality I can't see that it's worth it for the sake of some fancy lights, a slightly better video card (if the 9300 is specced with the 6800) - and a somewhat dubious colour scheme!
     

Share This Page

Loading...