Important! About Sony HX710/910

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Timur, Apr 29, 2005.

  1. Timur

    Timur
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Everybody !!
    Yesterday I picked-up my first DVD/HDD recorder Sony HX710!
    I have to unpack it install and connect to my SONY stuff (list below).
    Hope not to have bad surprises but I should not, I had downloaded the HX900/1000 operating manuals and from what I saw in the 710 op manual it seems there are some improvement (still no real flex recording...).
    I promise I'll let you know everything you want to know about this unit.

    greetings, Timur

    P.S.: this is all my equipment

    1° SYSTEM (Audio/video multichannel, all European models) :
    Amp TA-VA777ES,
    dsp SDP-EP90ES,
    tape TC-K590,
    equalizer SEQ-711,
    cd CDP-XA720,
    tuner ST-SA5ES,
    dvd DVP-NS999ES,
    vcr SLV-E710VP,
    tv KV-25E1A,
    dtt stb HUMAX DTT-4000
    console PSX & PS2,
    front BOSE 301 III,
    center B&W CC6 S2,
    rear B&W LM-1, MONSTER and OEHLBACH wiring.

    2° SYSTEM (2 Channel only for now , all in black finish) :
    preamp TA-E9000ES (black USA version),
    poweramp TA-N9000ES (gold European version , BTL driving B&W 604 S2),
    cd CDP-XA30ES,
    md MDS-JA20ES,
    front B&W DM 604 S2,
    VAN DEN HULL D-352 HIBRID cable(amp to speakers) ,D-300 III (pre to power amp),
    MONSTER M550i (CD variable output connected to “extra 2ch” of power amp).


    Headphones MDR-V5 , MDR-CD999 and MDR-CD555.
    MASTER LCD REMOTE Sony RM-AV2100 (USA version).
     
  2. EN

    EN
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2000
    Messages:
    267
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    Ratings:
    +0
    Timur,
    are there any problems with RGB on this unit?
    You look like a real SONY fan.
     
  3. Timur

    Timur
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Guys,

    I just tried some features of my 710 and I have to say this machine is excellent!!!

    NO RGB PROBLEM ON MY UNIT : RGB Pass-through, RGB vision and recording are OK(second scart or Line3 input),
    signal quality is outstanding! (and I'm still using a bad scart lead to connect my Humax DTT4000 (dvb terrestrial decoder) to the 710!!!)
    I must say that it seems a downconversion of RGB input at Line3 (scart 2) is not possible to COMPOSITE output at Line1 (scart 1)
    NO PROBLEM with RGB downconv to Line2 output S-Video (4 pins minidin) or RCA Composite.
    Alas, I haven't any gear or videoprojectors with COMPONENT Input so I cannot try COMPONENT Output (for now) but I'm sure there's no problem with it.

    Intelligent Chaptering is VERY usefull: maybe is not 100% in finding scene change but at least it finds commercial.
    The graphic user interface is really friendly&intelligent: this machine is almost entirely configurable.
    Plenty of I/Os for all your needs:4 analog input + 1 digital DV input.

    Playlist is now possible even on HDD title divide & combine
    (from a first read of the user manual it seems it just lacks TITLE MOVE on HDD)

    I still have to try HDD-DVD dubbing and VCR to HDD recording.

    BTW the price: here in Italy you can find it on the web (Pixmania.it I've bought one of the very first unit!!!) at 594 Eur (412.15 more or less)
    I suppose it's a good price (or not?)

    Question : is there anyone who has the Sony dvb decoder VTX-D800??
    any experience with it and coupled with a Sony DVD recorder (or others)??
    Would it work in Italy ?? (on AV LAND I found that Channel Coverage is UHF Channels B21-B69)
    It seems to be sold in many european countries....

    Is it the HUMAX DTT4000 sold in UK?? If so whats the Channel Coverage?

    I hope I've been of any help to all of you who has doubts about this unit.

    Greetings, Timor
     
  4. redsox_mark

    redsox_mark
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bath, England
    Ratings:
    +621
    I have the Sony dvb decoder VTX-D800, works great with my Toshiba XS32.

    I don't believe it will work in Italy though. Yes, the UHF range is the same, but this is a Freeview decoder, which is UK specific. I'm not a Freeview expert, and I know other countries are introducing similar DVB systems, but in general there are some differences. Would need someone who is knowledgeable of the Italy DVB system to say for sure.

    Mark
     
  5. Timur

    Timur
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mark,
    thanks a lot for your reply!!
    Do you record a RGB or a S-Video signal out (of the STB into the toshiba).
    Have you found any differences??

    Timur
     
  6. redsox_mark

    redsox_mark
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bath, England
    Ratings:
    +621
    Timur,

    I use RGB out from the STB into the Toshiba (I haven't tried it any other way).

    Mark
     
  7. Timur

    Timur
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm looking for a very good scart cable to record RGB signal and I'm thinking of Van den Hul "The Scart"
    Has anyone ever tried it ? others good brands for scart cables??

    Thanks in advance

    Timur
     
  8. redsox_mark

    redsox_mark
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bath, England
    Ratings:
    +621
    I've heard of Van den Hul, and know they make high quality cables. But never tried it.

    I use this RGB cable

    http://www.tvcables.co.uk/cgi-bin/tvcables/XHV601-075.html

    Note this one is RGB only - doesn't have any additional connections (like audio). They make a fully wired one too. But as my audio is separate and I only needed RGB, I went for RGB only.

    Mark
     
  9. redsox_mark

    redsox_mark
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bath, England
    Ratings:
    +621
    Oh, and there is a whole forum on this site relating to cables... you could ask for advice there.

    Mark
     
  10. Timur

    Timur
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mark

    thanks for all the infos!!
    yours seems to be an excellent cable, but I need audio as well so I'll go for a round cable.
    I will take a look at the cable dedicated forum !!

    Timur
     
  11. Timur

    Timur
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Everybody !!

    I've just found that the 710 has a "frame precision" in deleting scenes from titles (A-B erase function) and it works greatly!!
    At least it is enough if you want to remove commercials...
    I still have to try a lot of other editing function and I'll let you know

    Anyway Chapter Erasing and A-B Erasing are wonderful !!
    Timur
     
  12. podgerodge

    podgerodge
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    How lucky you are Timur, Pixmania are out of stock at the moment and say they should have some next week, I am desperate to get this bit of kit! By the way, is the hx710 simply a new version of the hx900?
     
  13. Timur

    Timur
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    podgerodge

    Yes I'm ane of the first in IOtaly who put his hands on this gear!!

    It is a new and Improved version of the900:

    -playlist on HDD as well !!
    -title divide on HDD !!
    -8 recording mode (BUT still no really flexible recording... why Sony, WHY?? it' s always the same: everything is perfect but a step behind other brands !!)
    -better graphiv user interface (really nice and, most important friendly)

    if you look at the threads about sony 510/710/910 where I posted you can find all the info (pro&cons) about this new line of products.

    greetings,

    Timur
     
  14. Maxi_TK96

    Maxi_TK96
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Helsinki
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the HX710 and have completely fallen in love with it. The features are short of amazing. My favourite parts:
    x finally easy editing (splitting, deleting parts of recordings)
    x transferring clips from HDD to DVD (you can either transfer your clip as it is or change the quality)
    x DVDs produced by it are readable in other players (those who eat DVDRs anyway)
    x supports both plus and minus camps

    I used DVD Decryptor to transfer the clip from DVD to computer.
     
  15. podgerodge

    podgerodge
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Maxi

    where did you buy your hx710? Thanks!
     
  16. Maxi_TK96

    Maxi_TK96
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Helsinki
    Ratings:
    +0
    I bought mine from a local retailer (Helsinki, Finland) for 636 eur (+ a scart with golded connectors, no scart included with the device). It's not the cheapest price but I have a feeling that transporting stuff up here is costly.

    One more thing, by default the device apparently outputs composite so the first thing you want to do is to drop by system settings and set it to RGB.
     
  17. ArtS

    ArtS
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    One simple question (to Timur maybe?)

    I know that RDR-HX510/710/910 can dub tiltes from HDD to DVD. But, can it do the same with playlists?

    THX
     
  18. EN

    EN
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2000
    Messages:
    267
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes it can.
     
  19. Timur

    Timur
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, it's one of the features sony added/fixed on its recent units.

    BTW, I've just seen in this thread (page 2)

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=204661

    that a new line of RDR is coming up in Japan (2nd half of June) and the RDR-D5 seems to be the new flagship, for now at least: it has "only 250 GB" and their old HX100 has 400 GB.

    I wonder whether the 1010, that is coming up in Sept, is going to have the improvement they almost surely added on D5 or it's already been projected....
     
  20. ArtS

    ArtS
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Maybe it's a stupid question, but I'm not sure it is possible (I'm going to buy DVD recorder).

    Can do I record program from external Sat receiver and watch previously recorded material from HDD at the same time? It is possible to use TV Pause and similar functions in this situation?
     
  21. redsox_mark

    redsox_mark
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bath, England
    Ratings:
    +621
    Yes you can watch previously recorded material on HDD while recording new (from external or internal tuner).

    In terms of "pause TV", you can of course pause what you are watching from HDD... you can also pause/timeslip the new recording. You couldn't pause some other "live TV", as the HDD is already recording.

    Mark
     
  22. ArtS

    ArtS
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Mark for your response.
     
  23. podgerodge

    podgerodge
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Having purchased the 710 , and very happy indeed with it , the only very minor disadvantage of it regarding pause live tv is that while you can pause live tv, if you decide subsequently not to continue watching it you CANNOT save the rest to the HDD. (unlike my previous Tosh D-R1). So if you have any doubt about watching the whole program, you are better to press Record and then playback from beginning - at least then you can save the program at any time.
     

Share This Page

Loading...